Wander logo

NYC Landscape

Concrete Jungle

By Published 4 years ago 4 min read
1
NYC at nighttime

The New York City summer breeze gently swarms into my room tickling the bottom of my left foot. Rainbow sparkling lights begin to dance around on my orange wall migrating into the “Good Times” painting by Ernie Barnes.

Captivated by the echo of the city that never sleeps, .... sparkling lights that never dim, .. I begin to glide toward my room window. I look far out, straight ahead, noting the Empire State Building. A nationwide NYC symbol representing my hometown. Referred to lyrically as the “concrete jungle, where dreams are made of.” I continue to stare out my window as if I am the clouds sitting above, looking down.

My thoughts are suddenly interrupted by the missing thought of the World Trade Center. Years prior to the horrific attacks, I remember not being able to view the Empire State Building, without gravitating toward the two rectangle Towers easily mistaken on many nights for a twin pack of candy chocolate Twix at night time.

View of Empire State Building, and former World Trade Center from Afar.

BOOM?! BOOM?! BOOM?! My attention is abruptly drawn below 190 feet to ground level nearby my residential building. Flashes of colors blue,white, and red begin to surround the neighborhood’s cat. Preferably favored for its white body, and black tail. I guess now we know who went to the store to purchase illegal firecrackers......in the month of May.

***FLASHING LIGHTS.***

My thoughts drift back to the missing imprint of the World Trade Center Towers. A light cool summer breeze begins to tickle my ears as I gleam into the darkness of the midnight hour. Straight ahead are rainbow castles of lights dancing on the crown of buildings. A synthesis of Hip-Hop, and Pop music embraces the elbows of churches, museums, coffee shops, schools, bus stops, and train stations.

Intertwined with the landscape of Emerald City, (The Wizard Of Oz) I glance upon bridges packed with metal fueled vehicles of all sizes, shapes, and colors. Each bridge has it’s own destination with no prime location. Bridges are everywhere , at all times. Various vehicles begin to look like Christmas ornaments on the bridge, symbolizing the silent veins representing the backbone of NYC.

NYC at night-time

Roof?! ROOF?! Roof?! Zoom down below 190 feet. I gaze upon a middle-aged women sitting on the bench in the park across the street with her French bull dog, . I begin to blush thinking of all the cute selfies I would take with my pet if I had one.... I begin to softly chuckle when I observe the bull dog eating the hot drizzle of melted cheese sliding off the women’s pizza, while she is looking away on her phone.

I close my eyes and become one with the earth. I breathe in the aroma of burnt popcorn screeching from my neighbors window below. I quickly return back to my window in my wicked witch costume. Devilishly, I begin to disarm multiple eggs onto my neighbors arms leaning out the window below mine. While jokingly taunting my neighbor with fresh eggs, I now realize the eggs I have throw coincidentally landed on a cop’s vehicle.

At this moment, the vehicle begins to glare its laser beam lights up above in search of the egg villain. Quickly tucking my arm back into my window, as to not be seen. I return from washing my hands, marching right back to my throne beside the window.

By this time, my neighbor is expressing all the awesome things that may be done to the egg villain if captured. Laughing in silence, I gaze upon the glow of NYC at night.

Glow of NYC

“Would I have wanted to be born anywhere else?” Answer: It is the imprint of an old grill cheese sandwich stuck on 14th street since 8th grade, ice cream truck that always has a flat tire, clubs that run longer than zombies, lights that have no darkness, endless streets, belly loving food, vivacious and cultural people that truly keeps NYC THRIVING!

I inhale the aroma of the brisk summer breeze. Over top the fluffy blue clouds fight for their chance to finally rest. Birds begin to leave the nest in search of food. Sirens are roaring through the busy and overcrowded streets of NY. The sun climbed to the top of the earth to say good morning . The view of the earth has played its final song..... As I close my eyes , I begin to recall being captivated by the echo of the city that never sleeps, .... sparkling lights that never dim, ..

Concrete Jungle|Where Dreams Are Made Of: NYC

america
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.