Wander logo

No such thing as half-cast Aboriginal

All we are asking, is for some respect.

By Thomas Markham-MoellerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

How's it going guys? I'm Tom. I turned 18 a few months ago and being an adult means you have more of a say both politically and socially. So, here is where my head's at in this point of time.

In case you haven't already speculated I am of Aboriginal as well as Torres Strait Islander background and love participating in as many cultural community events as I can. I love my people and our rich culture dating back generations. For those of you who are familiar with true Australian history, you may know that indigenous people were not counted as citizens for a very long time. We were treated as if we weren't important, looked at by many but never acknowledged, like garbage on the ground.

When Captain Cook arrived in 1788 with his crew of men on the shores of Australia - on the shores of Aboriginal land - he began by disgracing our people by calling a very much inhabited country, "terra nullius" in latin translation, "nobody's land." Aboriginal people had been living here for over 65,000 years before the British settlers arrived and so they had absolutely no right to make such an absurd claim when Aboriginal people were literally right in front of their eyes. People with families, just living life the way they were used to and the way they loved it. Our livelihood was ripped from us in that moment. Children were taken away from their mothers and fathers, people were killed for being 'unusual', because we looked different to them and practiced culture differently. This was a very dark time in Australian history that isn't talked about enough and Aboriginal people need to be shown as much (if not utmost) respect for the trauma that has been indented in families for generations.

Despite our history becoming more known and the apologetic speech made by Kevin Rudd, I would like to stress that as much as people think they know you, they don't unless you have told them directly. Which is why I speak on behalf of all my brothers and sisters of this great land when I say that I am black, and I'm proud. I'm proud to be Aboriginal because we are a family. A family who has endured the worst of circumstances and are still here in body and spirit today. It is NEVER okay to disregard somebody's background based on their skin colour. This is a form of racism and it will not be tolerated and certainly isn't with most people. Do I have light skin? Yes. Do I speak fluent English? Obviously. Am I Aboriginal? 100%.

culture
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.