Wander logo

New York Day 4

Sightseeing and Shopping

By Michaela GrattonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

This morning we had a lie in. This was partly to do with the fact that some of the other guests kept on slamming doors in the night and the fact that we decided to go on a cruise and they didn’t start until 10:30 AM. We both agreed not to have breakfast before hand because of travel sickness. Food tended to make us feel worse as we both learnt on the flight to New York. The boat ride was going to be an hour and a half. It looped around the statue of Liberty and passed the sights of New York and Manhattan. We got on for free with our New York Pass. Such good value for money and I would recommend it to anyone else going New York. Stupidly I did not dress suitable for the boat trip. I left my coat in the hotel room and needless to say I was fricken' freezing.

It was such a beautiful day, not a cloud in the sky, I got many fantastic photographs and a few selfies thrown in for good measure. The trip was very informative the captain was telling us all about the history of some of the buildings. The boat we were on also helped with getting the passengers off the plane during the ‘Miracle in the Hudson’ incident a few years ago. It was nice to go past the Freedom tower. I did want to go to the 9/11 site but unfortunately, we didn’t have much time to go. But that’s something we can do another time.

When we got off the boat. We needed to find somewhere to warm up and get something to eat. We went to McDonalds. We tried to find a KFC first, but McDonalds won. I was a bit surprised to find that the McDonalds had security. But I suppose with how busy it was it made sense. We went back to the hotel for a quick nap as we both felt sick after the boat ride. We then decided to do a bit of shopping around Macys. I was pleasantly surprised over how big it was inside. I tried very hard to keep my inner shopper on her best behaviour. I did buy a few Christmas decorations though. I also brought a pair of Sketchers that I had been eyeing up while browsing the shops in Times Square. We did end up asking for some directions to a floor. The signs within the building were quite confusing.

We went to Olive Garden for tea tonight. Another American restaurant to check off my bucket list. It was really nice. Massive queues though but we were quickly shown to a table and served. The meal was lovely, but I ended up leaving half of it on my plate as it was a big serving. I suppose it didn’t really help that I had about four servings of bread while we were waiting, but it was damn nice.

We finished the day and went back to the hotel around 10 PM. We decided to get an early night in, so we could do a walking tour of Central Park tomorrow. I wanted to try and go into Macys, Tiffanys and the Empire State building as well. So, we needed a good rest for the amount of walking we would be doing.

When I was at the hotel, I felt a bit homesick so I Whatsapped my family—completely forgetting about the time difference. But my dad was awake and messaged me back. I let him know what I did so far and that I was safe. No matter how old I will be I will always check in with my family when I’m on holiday.

america
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.