Wander logo

Nature Speaks: The Beauty Of The Oregon Coast

Reconnecting with nature; where the familiar is always new

By Gabriella KorosiPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Nature Speaks: The Beauty Of The Oregon Coast
Photo by Fabian Quintero on Unsplash

It was a Friday afternoon when I drove down to Gearhart from Astoria.

It was a gorgeous sunny day after a whole week of rain and gloomy gray skies. Rain happens here often. I was enjoying the drive and the flush green surroundings. The sun was just hitting the trees and the Columbia river in the perfect angle.

The views throughout my drive were amazing. The drive took me about 35 minutes. The anticipation to see my friend and enjoy the beach after being mostly just going to work and spending time at home because of the pandemic was high.

I could not wait to get there.

Even though it was the last weekend in October the temperature was nice and comfortable. The lights liked me that day and I got all greens on my way to the coast. Finally, I arrived to meet my friend by the golf course, and we walked down to the to the beach.

With every step I was looking forward with curiosity: How will the water look today? Will it be calm? Will it be angry? Every time I see the ocean, all I have is amazement for its power.

The water was beautiful. The awe never stops. For a moment all I could do was to just stand in front of this amazing view, and simply try to take in the constant change, the sounds of the water, the birds, and the wind. The smell of the ocean, there is simply just nothing like it. I feel like it is hard to find the words to capture the serenity, beauty, and power of the coastline. I am thankful for the moments of joy that I feel when I am by the ocean, walking the beaches or visiting the trails and enjoying the trees in our forests.

A few weeks ago, a wonderful friend of mine visited me and in three days we went around and explored three Oregon coast beaches and some of the surrounding shops in Cannon Beach, Seaside and Gearhart.

We also walked around Astoria and its Columbia river front. We visited the Eagle Sanctuary just outside of Astoria. We had some wonderful meals at local restaurants. I am grateful that we had that time as now those restaurants are closed again or provide take out only because of the pandemic.

I been living in the coastal area now for over 6 years, yet its beauty and power leaves me with amazement every time.

There is always something new to find and discover. Although the rural coastal living can have its own challenges, I am filled with gratefulness to have the option to live here and enjoy its serenity.

Enjoying nature is one thing we can still do during the pandemic.

I believe it helps healing and providing some moments of calmness in our lives. Try to get out to nature and see your surroundings: parks, trees, rivers, seas and oceans when you can with social distancing of course.

Nature Speaks

Standing in front of unimaginable beauty.

The ocean brings the morning breeze.

The sand feels cold to a point that numbing sensations kick in.

I stopped feeling my feet. My toes turn red. Should I turn back? The thought crossed my mind just for a second.

Immediately my mind and body screams: No, not yet. I keep going. The morning air filled with eagles and seagulls flying.

I hear the familiar roar of the water and the waves clashing on the sand. Making my way through rocks and sandy grass to the ocean. There is that moment of anticipation when you know what is coming.

The beauty, the power, and the surrounding calmness of the water. It is truly amazing how something so powerful can create the most Zen and mystical moments.

Closing my eyes for a few minutes. I can sense the ocean’s power, feel the wet sand under my feet, feel the wind’s gentle touch on my hair and my body. It seems like I can see even that my eyes are closed. I can see a reddish color with particles merging together between air and water and create a beautiful harmony like a well-practiced symphony.

It feels like synergy at it’s best.

I can see with all my other senses and feel the energy surrounding me. I am thankful and grateful to be here, to enjoy this moment.

Feeling the sand on my feet brings a grounding sensation and closeness to the earth that feels natural, it feels like home. Moments like these create true joy and belonging to nature, being a part of everything surrounding us.

We are the water. We are the air. We are the wind. We are the fire. Broken sand dollars and shells under my feet, I keep walking.

The morning sun shines its calming red rays on my face. It feels wonderful to be here. My feet warms up as I keep walking. The numbing sensation is gone. My toe colors return to normal. The sand shows multiple patterns in front of me. It is nature’s foot massage.

The ground in front of me is a hard surface crossing between flat or wavy while in other places it is so soft that my feet sinks into the ground. It’s time to turn back.

I say goodbye to the ocean until the next time.

Thank you for being here.

By Dr. Gabriella Kőrösi. Dancing Elephants Press. All Rights Reserved.

Thank you for reading,

Gabriella

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Gabriella Korosi

I am a writer, public health professional, a nurse. Creator of connections, spreading positivity. Interests: health/spirituality/positivity/joy/caring/public health/nursing. My goal is to create positive change.https://gabriellakorosi.org

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.