Wander logo

My Virtual Postcard

Where I'll be going when lockdown is over...

By Leigh HooperPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
4
My Virtual Postcard
Photo by Sara Dubler on Unsplash

Take me to this place. Definitely anytime, but not just anywhere. Here. Away from the grey skies and isolation, to clear waters and freedom. Although a virtual holiday is the best we’ll get right now, I know the next real holiday I take will be magical.

It would start like any other holiday – dragging my boyfriend out of bed early in the morning. The excitement and nerves getting the better of us, and eventually 4am would seem just as a normal time to be awake than 9am. We'd haul ourselves out of the house – “Do we definitely have everything?!” - and lock the door.

When I think about it, while I sit in my house for the sixth week of lockdown, I miss airports. The hustle and bustle and buzzing energy. Someone is having breakfast, someone is having a nap, and someone is necking down drinks at the nearest bar. An airport is chaotically beautiful, and no holiday would be the same without it.

By Andrew Leu on Unsplash

The picture of a beautiful pool and gorgeous trees, this virtual holiday as such, jumped out at me. Like a moth to a flame, I was drawn to it. And all of a sudden, I’m online shopping for new bikinis. It looks like an irresistible place to be. It looks like a place that you would still be happy there even if it rained. You would be happy there, period. It looks as though this place banishes any negative thoughts, and positivity is the only thing that exists there.

It’s the type of place you have fruit for breakfast, and you try any new cuisine because it all looks to die for. Anything has got to be better than a typical English fish and chips. Whether it’s ice cold water or a funky cocktail, this place looks like it would have the best drinks. It’s the type of thing you would take a picture of, and then post it on Instagram months later like “omg I miss these!! :(”. Or the type of photograph that you pin on Pinterest.

By Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

This place would be perfect for me and my partner. Being the athletic type, he would be swimming laps of the pool all day. Me? I would be sun lounging with a book. My favourite thing to do when on holiday.

Our last holiday together was over a year ago now, when we ventured on a nine-hour flight to the small island of Barbados. It was gorgeous, and it is a holiday I’ll never forget, which is why this picture appealed to me so much.

A HOLIDAY IDEA, for those who are sentimental, whenever I go on holiday, I never send postcards. Instead, I buy a postcard from the place I have stayed and take it home with me. It goes on my pinboard and, over the years, I have accumulated a small collage of all the places I have been through the use of postcards.

This picture is absolutely worthy of being on my holiday pin board.

While being in isolation, it has given me time to think. I’ve decided I want to travel more. I want to see more of the world. Climb mountains, try new foods, explore ancient cities and relax by blue seas. I want to see it all.

After lockdown is over, I’m going to go to a place just like the picture by the incredible Sara Dubler, the person who took the photo and made me long to be there. And when I get there, it will be heaven.

It looks so good that as well as keeping a postcard for myself, I might even send one. After all what’s a holiday if you don’t show everyone else what a good time you’re having?

My postcard would read a little something like this:

Hi mum and dad!

I hope you’re enjoying rainy old England, because it’s beautiful here. Not that I’m trying to make you jealous or anything lol :)

I’m loving it here. Maybe I’ll never come back! Although I think work might be mad at me if I did…

See you soon! Lots of love,

Leigh x

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

caribbean
4

About the Creator

Leigh Hooper

A writer in her twenties with a head full of ideas and a room full of books✨

My Instagram handle is: @leighooper

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.