Wander logo

My Secret Rooftop Hideout

Search for a safe rooftop in your area to getaway

By HC MoonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

It has been about 5 months now living abroad in the country side of South Korea. Among the many habits I brought with me to this rapidly developed country. The one habit I am glad I brought was my affinity to finding and climbing rooftops in cities I have lived in and visit. The rooftop I am speaking of in particular was a rooftop I had discovered while walking around my small city of Gongju. Since discovering this rooftop, I have gone up at least 4 times a week to either read a book, enjoy a quick meal, write some poetry, bring a friend, or simply get the freshest air this city has to offer.

I always search for these easy access rooftops all over the world. On my days off in the city of Hongdae, I had found a handful of rooftops I could claim as our own just for a few fleeting hours. I would go up to these rooftops not only on days to destress after work and on off days when I had nothing else to do. I have gone up to these roof tops at the end of a night of drinking to have those late night sobering conversations about life. I had also brought up a girl who I would have never had thought would become such an important person in my life at that time up to a rooftop I had found weeks prior.

I encourage anybody out there to explore your city and find these hidden gems to make life long memories with your loved one and friends. I have convinced so many with a fear of heights to come up ensuring they would not regret and not a single soul had felt a moment of regret the moment they saw the view that they did not realize they have been missing while travelling to a new country. You can find all the trendy spots and the things to do but to truly take in the infrastructure and development of the city that you have been being a tourist in for weeks, months, or maybe a city you have been living in all your life.

Being on the rooftop does something to my soul as it takes you out of the hustle and bustle of the city you have maybe grown to under-appreciate and truly observe just exactly how much life goes on. I hear high school students budding romances giggling and yelling at the nearby campus track field. I see countless people working out and playing all kinds of sports on the soccer and tennis field. I hear the markets bumbling with business and little kids at a nearby daycare laughing and screaming. As much time as I have spent up there observing and reflecting on myself. I have spent an equal amount of time listening to the river, the wind, the people that I share this city and have never crossed paths with.

I hope that this read truly encourages you to look at the city you have been living in or helps keep in mind to a city you will soon explore. Take a moment and find a easy accessible rooftop to find and appreciate a view you would not have even considered before. I just recommend not to be a hassle and do not disturb the area. If you have a picnic up there please clean up after yourself. Obviously do not tamper with anything and trespass beyond any ill intent. Simply go up to enjoy the view and most importantly breathe that fresh air!

Thank you so much for taking your time and reading through this and enjoying just a few of the photos and videos I have captured on my rooftop hunting adventures! I hope you take some of your own to inspire others in your following to find their own rooftop sanctuary. I have noticed a huge spike in rooftop stories after I had begun posting them onto my story. Dozens of connections from friends I hadn't spoken to in months to friends I saw last weekend.

Much love,

Hyung-Chan Moon

asia
1

About the Creator

HC Moon

a human being born in the year of the pig on a month named after the goddess of gods with a Leo moon. Simply looking to grow and learn through asking for and sharing stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.