Wander logo

My Mum's First Trip to Sydney

On my mom's first Sydney trip, we explored the city together. Check out this blog to discover the experiences we loved.

By Isabella Harriot Published 2 months ago 3 min read
Like

Last month, my 60-year-old mum flew down to Sydney for the first time. There were several non-negotiable items on her itinerary – a must-try experience aboard one of the famous lunch cruises in Sydney, a visit to the Opera House, endless beach days, the list goes on. Well, we made all that happen! Oh, and they’re so much fun! Let me take you through these lovely Sydney experiences that stole our hearts and gave us so many beautiful memories to cherish.

Beach Mornings

My mum is a total beach girl. She’s also a morning person. Naturally, many of our mornings during her visit were dedicated to the shores. Sometimes we took a dip in the sea. Trust me, there’s no better start to your day than a refreshing swim. Otherwise, we just curled up, listening to the city wake up around us. These beachside mornings became the backdrop for countless heartfelt conversations that I'll cherish forever. Later, we’d grab breakfast from a cafe and head home.

Opera House Tour

I can never possibly see the Opera House the same after my visit to this iconic landmark with my mother. I mean, in a totally good way. This single visit showed me a side to my mother that I’d never really known, or maybe noticed. That woman loves architecture! She kept going on and on about the brilliant design of the structure, and was comparing its features with buildings she had seen in Dubai, Rome, and other countries. It was all, of course, Greek and Latin to me. However, I won’t ever forget how my mother’s face lit up when she saw the Opera House for the first time.

Lunch Cruise Fun

One other thing about my mother is that she hates walking too much. So, I thought one of those iconic lunch cruises would be a great idea for her to see the city’s attractions without having to walk a lot. It was on her bucket list. Well, it turned out to be a great decision! From the Harbour Bridge, Opera House to Luna Park, we could see all the harbourfront icons from the boat. We also loved the simple but delicious Australian food served aboard. She loved the experience so much that we ended up booking a dinner cruise too. No regrets though, it was equally enchanting.

Royal Botanical Gardens

This visit was my time to shine. I introduced my mum to my favourite plants here, and she was very impressed. I believe I cracked some really good plant jokes. Of course, she laughed at it all; she’s my mother! I think the Royal Botanic Gardens is where we took the most pictures. I am usually a shy poser, but Mum just wouldn’t have it! She made me pose with this plant and that tree. Even though I acted annoyed at the time, in retrospect, I kinda enjoyed it. Well, she’s not the only one clicking photos. She made me click a dozen pictures of hers too. “I have to show my girlfriends,” she said.

Taronga Zoo Visit

Our shared love for animals led us to the Taronga Zoo, where we had a jolly good time. It is actually a little crazy how much time we spent watching the giraffes– those long necks and curious eyes were simply too cute to resist! But let's be honest, it wasn't just the giraffes; from koalas to elephants, all of the animals we met there stole our hearts. My mother even wanted to take a chimp baby home. Of course, the logistics of having a chimp as a new family member is a tad bit impractical. So, she settled for the next best thing – me. Jokes apart, exploring the Taronga Zoo with my mother is a memory that I won’t forget.

Yeah, so these were the highlights of my mother’s Sydney visit. I am sure she left with a suitcase full of Sydney goodies and a heart full of good memories. Forever grateful for the quality time we get to spend together.

travel tips
Like

About the Creator

Isabella Harriot

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.