Wander logo

My kind of Souvenir: Collecting Notes and Coins from Around the Globe

Banknotes and Coins— Discovering One Piece at a Time

By Somil GuptaPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
2
Banknotes of nine different countries. Image by the Author.

I was a little kid when my uncle went to Europe, and that was the first time I saw a currency from a country other than India; the mere sight of a foreign banknote gave me a new kind of excitement.

I couldn't resist the urge to gather up every coin my uncle had brought back. Each currency with a unique artistry and history is my little treasure to date.

And so, my lifelong fascination with collecting notes and coins from far-off lands began.

My first ever set of coins. Image by the Author.

So, I started collecting coins and banknotes as souvenirs from every country I started visiting. For me, it's like possessing fragments of distant lands and cultures; each one tells a story about the place it comes from and the people who live there. It's like having a little piece of the world in your pocket! The best part is that currency transcends language.

Every coin I collect tells me a story and reminds me of a happy moment when I got that one.

Let me share a very recent story with you.

During my trip to Indonesia, something puzzled me for the first four days. I didn’t see any coins in any of my cash transactions. I began to wonder if Indonesia even had coins in circulation.

Then, one day at a McDonald’s, I spotted a 1000 Indonesian Rupiah (IDR) coin in a tip jar. It was a eureka moment for me; I finally had confirmation that Indonesian coins existed.

I decided to collect one, but my search proved challenging. In the next two days, I still couldn’t find any coins. I was losing hope until I visited a souvenir shop. Where while paying to the cashier I saw some coins in the cash drawer and instead of receiving a 1000 IDR banknote as a change, I asked if I could have two 500 IDR coins instead. The cashier gave me a puzzled look.

I quickly explained my passion for collecting coins from different countries. After a moment’s thought, she kindly agreed, and I left the store with my very first Indonesian coin. It was a small triumph that brought a big smile to my face.

My precious two 500 IDR coins. Image by the Author.

I have collected banknotes from 9 countries, including Thailand, Indonesia, Qatar, Singapore, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia, Vietnam, Norway, and the USA. These hold an extraordinary place in my heart, reminding me to travel more and witness unique banknotes and coins. The thrill of discovering new currency never fades.

For me, currencies are not just notes and coins; they are gateways to the world’s cultures and histories, waiting to be discovered one piece at a time.

Coins from various countries so far. Image by the Author.

Can you spot a relatable coin in the above collection? Do let me know in the comments.

Currency collecting has been my passport to the world, allowing me to explore and understand different cultures and relive that moment later on. My collection has become more than just a hobby; it's more of a curiosity, a record of my travels and a glimpse of our diverse world. Your collection is a journey through the art, history, and culture of the world, one coin and note at a time.

I plan to grow my collection from more currencies around the globe, learn more about these coins' history and further cultivate my passion.

I encourage you to explore the world of currency collecting. Start small, take your time, and enjoy the journey. Your collection will become a canvas of your life, filled with memories, knowledge, and the beauty of our diverse world.

Thank you for reading my story! Hearts and tips are always welcome and your support is very much appreciated.

This story was originally published on Medium.

activitiesvintagebudget travelasia
2

About the Creator

Somil Gupta

Embarking on a journey as a travel storyteller, curating unique itineraries, and sharing rich insights on cultures, people, and history worldwide. ✈️🌍

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.