Wander logo

My Journey To Finding Success

While Living Abroad

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Like
Bunong Tribal People - Mondulkiri, Cambodia (Photo by Freddie's Lost Treasures)

Living abroad can be a daunting experience, but it can also be one of the most rewarding. For me, my journey to finding success while living abroad began when I met my wife in Cambodia. We found stability together and started building a life in this beautiful country.

One of the first things we did upon our journey together was to explore the different lands in the jungle that were available for purchase. We were looking for places where we could do some light farming and build a small off-grid solar homestead. After some searching, we found the perfect spot and began our new adventure. Building our homestead was a challenging but rewarding experience. We had to learn about sustainable farming practices and how to live off the grid. But with hard work and determination, we were able to create a beautiful and self-sufficient home in the jungle.

Our farm provided us with fresh fruits and vegetables, and we were able to sell our surplus at the local market. This gave us a sense of purpose and fulfillment, knowing that we were contributing to our community and living sustainably. But our journey didn't stop there. We continued to explore Cambodia and discovered its rich culture and history. We visited everywhere we could fathom, learned about the local customs and traditions (such as the Bunong Tribal people that we help support), and made friends with the people in our community.

As we settled into our new life in Cambodia, we found that there were many opportunities for growth and development. We started to explore different business ventures, and eventually decided to open a very small eco-tourism resort on our land. This allowed us to share our love for sustainable living with others, and provided us with a steady source of income.

Running the small resort is a lot of work, but it is also incredibly rewarding. We meet people from all over the world and are able to share our experiences and knowledge with them. We also learn a lot from our guests, who bring their own unique perspectives and ideas. In addition to running the resort, we have also continued to expand our farm. We started raising chickens and began producing our own honey. This not only provides us with more food for ourselves and our guests, but also has allowed us to sell more products at the local market.

As our micro-business grew, we were able to hire local Bunong Tribal people to help us with the farm and the resort. This has given us the opportunity to give back to our community and provide jobs for a handful of people in need. It elicits such a great feeling to know that we were making a positive impact on the lives of others. Looking back on my journey to finding success while living abroad, I realize that it was not always easy. There were challenges and setbacks along the way, but with determination and hard work, we were able to overcome them. And so far, it has all been worth it.

Living abroad has given me a new perspective on life and has taught me so much about myself and the world around me. I am grateful for the experiences I have had and the people I have met along the way. And I know that my journey is far from over - there is still so much more to explore and discover. It has taught me so much about myself and the world around me. I've learned to be more open-minded, adaptable, and resilient. And most importantly, I've found success and happiness in my new home. My journey to finding success while living abroad has been an incredible adventure. From meeting my wife in Cambodia and finding stability with her, to building a small off-grid solar homestead and exploring this beautiful country, I've learned so much and grown as a person. And I know that this is just the beginning of my journey.

Starting a successful eco-tourism resort and giving back to our community, and being with my wife in Cambodia building our life together, has allowed me to grow with knowledge beyond whatever I thought I would encompass in my life. I am excited to see where this adventure will take both my wife and I next. My path to finding success while living abroad has been an incredible adventure filled with challenges, growth, and fulfillment and it is no longer only my journey, but our journey together (my faithful readers). Let's go!

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today. Please subscribe. I have plenty of upcoming articles on varying topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are greatly appreciated. Our monies collected in Vocal help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

humanitypop culturefeaturecultureasiaactivities
Like

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.