Wander logo

My Greatest Bookstore Adventure

Why The Last Bookstore in Los Angeles, CA is a hot spot

By Kayla LindleyPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
4
Photo Credit @theamethystbooknerdigan

Considering Los Angeles, CA is a concrete jungle of sorts, there is always little hidden gems to find. Having lived in California, there is so much to do and see that you would never be bored. I recently got back into reading in 2018 after my struggles with anxiety and depression began to hit new levels of highs and lows. I never seemed to be able to find a balance in life, but reading provided the opportunities of an escape into a world full of adventures and problems that were not my own.

So I decided that when I start traveling on my own more and more, I wanted to make it a point to check out some of the country's coolest bookstores! Whether it's a mom and pop shop, or a bigger store like The Last Book Store I wanted to get a book from each state to grow my own personal library. This store is actually one of LA's biggest highlights, and historically used to be a bank back in the day! This store combines art and books and I am pretty sure they have over 1 million books available, the place is HUGE!

Photo Credit @theamethystbooknerdigan

They have tons and tons of interactive art pieces within the store itself, and photo prompt spots (which is an amazing way for photographers and influencers alike to build up their content in a creative way.) I feel like my mind was blown, there is so much to look at, and I genuinely felt like you could get lost in time in the store. Like a time warp.

Photo Credit @theamethystbooknerdigan

Because the store was originally a bank, they actually kept the old vault doors, and use the vault to hold their oldest books. It looked like you were taken back into time in the store, and it was a really neat feature to see! Right outside the vault, they have alot of newer YA and contemporary novels. Truth be told the store is very well organized, and we should be supporting stores like The Last Book Store, because even though they are a staple in LA, they also are a smaller business. They were defintiely hit hard during the pandemic, and I watched them on their Instagram encouraging curbside pick up.

Photo Credit @theamethystbooknerdigan

It seemed like they did alot of meet ups before COVID happened, and alot of book discussions, book signings etc. I know that if and when I decide to publish my book that I totally want to do a book signing here. I know they even do private events and hold different functions throughout the year.

My Son Gatsby Photo Credit @theamethystbooknerdigan

They had an AMAZING kids section, and such a variety of books. It's hard to find books that will stay nice for long periods of time when you have kids. Typically they get nasty, and the boys rip the pages out of the books. I try my best to keep them intact, but you can only fight the situation so much. So regardless, alot of them were well priced. I picked up the more cardboard books, because they are the most durable for a longer term situation.

Photo Credit @theamethystbooknerdigan

My favorite part in the entire store was this book tunnel that lit up! As I previously mentioned before, they have alot of books that got turned into art! Which is actually amazing, because they are made into long lasting sculptures, rather than ending up into a landfill and can be admired for generations to come!

I highly recommend bringing a basket or something to carry all your new books and goodies with, because being hands free to me is important! Make sure you have your phone charged! I promise you will want to take tons of selfies and awesome photos, during your adventures in the book store!

Photo Credit @theamethystbooknerdigan

For all my book lovers of the asthetically pleasing type, The Last Book Store has you covered with a whole color coded or arranged section. It's definitely pleasing to look at! (Really I just consider this to be an OCD lovers dream.)

Photo Credit @theamethystbooknerdigan

There is definitely something for everyone here at the book store, and the more I looked, and stopped and stared I would find more unique items, or things that showed the artists creative mind. Many of these works will be here for years to come. The best part about this store is the amount of used books is INSANE. You literally can walk out with a whole library if you wanted to and completely start from scratch.

Photo Credit @theamethystbooknerdigan

They also have these really comfy couches in the middle of the store where you can sit with your new found books. They have tons of different genres, and truthfully I loved seeing how they really are making an impact on the environment, and the best part is alot of their used books are relatively cheap. So you can get alot of new reads without breaking the bank. The next time I head here, which will most likely be in April of this year, I will have to do a book haul for you all. Nothing serious though, I plan on moving to San Antonio next year, so I don't want to move a ton of newish books.

Photo Credit @theamethystbooknerdigans

I also forgot to mention that if you go upstairs, there a ton of small artists and small businesses that the store helps support. So they create alot of bookish things, as well as enamel pins. And there is even more art sculptures up there too! Definitely recommend checking them out.

Photo Credit @theamethystbooknerdigan

I loved every minute of it here. I ended up leaving the store with only 1 book, because I couldn't fit a ton of new things in my suitcase on the plane. I managed to snag Six of Crows by: Leigh Bardugo, and I noticed it had pretty stellar reviews on Good Reads. I have actually not gotten around to reading this yet, but I definitely plan to this year, as it's on my TBR challenge. I'm hoping to get to 75 books by the end of the year. However, I'm not holding my breath. I tend to get to alot of books via Audible, because I am constantly on the go.

I plan to drive to Los Angeles, so I'm hoping I'll be able to knock out a few audio books and get some reviews up for you on here while I'm away. Few last house keeping items, definitely recommend wearing good walking shoes. As tempting as it is to look super cute going places, you will end up doing a TON of walking. There is no real parking availability near the bookstore, so we had to park in a parking garage and walk a couple of blocks to the bookstore when we were done.

Also it's not in a super safe part of Los Angeles, there is homeless people. I mean it's not a big deal if you are from the area, or are familiar with the location, but I just throw this out there because if you come from a smaller town vibe, you may be really thrown off to see this. Los Angeles, has really put in alot of effort the last couple of years to move out the homeless population in the area, and help them get resources to get off the streets. But every now and again they have regular straglers.

Now near the bookstore during the summer months there is a Farmer's Market off the side of the building which is super cool. So if you want to get some really awesome vegan cupcakes, or some fresh produce I highly recommend checking out the area. It's really truly amazing and you won't regret stopping here!

For more information on my latest book reviews, or bookish merch products feel free to follow me @theamethystbooknerdigan on Instagram. I am also in the process of getting my YouTube channel back up and going! My camera has been broken for months now, so I haven't had the time or money to go in and fix it right now. But either way thanks for all your support! And if you'd like, consider leaving a tip below it'll go towards funding my next book review.

Cheers!

-Kayla

activities
4

About the Creator

Kayla Lindley

Kayla is a neuro-spicy single mom, and writing is her therapy. When she isn't writing, Kayla is out collecting crystals, growing her sticker collection, and hiking in the mountains of Northern Washington with her Corgi Morty.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.