Wander logo

My Dream Destination: The Republic of Mari El, Russia

Part 6 of My Dream Destination series

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
4
Photo via Google Images. Shariboksad: The most picturesque, alluring, distinctive, tranquil and colorful parks in the Mari El republic. It is also known as the Mushyl Lake, or Sea Eye Lake.

The Mari El republic is situated in the eastern part of the Eastern European Plain of Russia, along the northern bank of the Volga River. The Mari El republic is a part of the Volga Federal District and has a population of 696, 459 (2010 Census). Yoshkar Ola is the capital and largest city of Mari El. The republic of Mari El is west of Nizhny Novogorod Oblast, north of Kirov Oblast, east of Tatarstan, and south of Chuvashia.

Mari El is one of Russia's culturally rich republics, mainly symbolizing the indigenous Mari people. The indigenous Mari people are a part of the Finno-Ugric ethnic group who have resided along the Volga and Kama River. Russians (47.4%), and Maris (43.9%) make up the majority of the population. The minority ethnic groups residing in the Mari El republic are the Chuvash and Tatars. Asides from speaking, reading, and writing Russian, the primary language is also Mari (the two dialects include Meadow Mari and Hill Mari).

For a cozy and pleasant "virtual trip" to the Mari El republic, check out and watch one of Bald and Bankrupts vlogs. If you are interested in more of his travel vlogs, subscribe to his channel using the link below!

https://www.youtube.com/c/baldandbankrupt/featured

Since Russia is a vast country, there is so much to do and see, especially when you visit all the different republics of Russia. The same theory goes for me, because I have such an interest for the various places and ethnic groups of Russia. Way before I got into watching Bald and Bankrupt's vlogs, I've had a penchant for learning about the various ethnic groups, places, and dialects in Russia. Preferably, I would want to visit the Mari El republic during the spring and summer months, so I can enjoy all of the parks and outdoor activities it has to offer.

Like I say in all of "My Dream Destination" Vocal stories, I can't do everything during my first visit. Since I have to pick and choose the things I want to do the most, read my list of things I want to see and do during my first trip to Yoshkar Ola, where I would be staying for the full few days in Mari El.

1. Meditate by the Green Brook

Photo via Google Images. Absolutely stunning and calming. This place reminds me of a family friends cottage I used to visit as a child!

My love for nature will not stop during my travels to Russia, especially in the Mari El republic. In nature-rich parts of Russia such as the Mari El republic, I could never go wrong with visiting the odd park and nature reserve during my brief but purposeful stay. Although I'll be visiting quite a few parks in Yoshkar Ola, this is just one of them on my list. When I visit this majestic nature spot, I would find a peaceful and grassy spot where I can meditate, watch some birds, nap, read a book, listen to music, and take photographs. I would typically stay at the Green Brook for an hour or two and then move onto the next activity.

2. Visit and meet some of the furry critters at the Tomas Petting Zoo

Photo via Google Images. Outside of the indoor petting store in Yoshkar Ola.

My theory is, you're never too old for petting zoo's! This is an amazing thing to do and enjoy, especially for an animal lover such as myself. Although many people perceive petting zoo's as places for children and not adults in their 20's, I wouldn't mind checking this place out. I believe that a therapeutic and pleasant visit to the petting zoo would make my trip to Mari El even more meaningful, because I would have the opportunity to touch and meet some furry friends, which I don't often do back in Canada. I definitely see animals in Canada, but I don't often visit zoo's, so this would be an absolute treat for me to savour!

3. Have some fun in the sun at the Central Beach

Photo via Google Images. Real Soviet children frolicking and absorbing the freshness of the lake!

My love for the beach will continue for the rest of my life. I mainly enjoy visiting the beach in tropical places like Florida, Israel, and Jamaica, Soviet beaches shouldn't be any different. Soviet beaches may not look like the ultimate "palm trees, wooden huts, and coconut shacks" type of beaches like in the Caribbean, however I would love to bring a beach towel, my iPhone, my book, and just enjoy the presentness of a Soviet beach. I also wouldn't mind taking a quick dip in the lake, if I feel too hot from sun bathing for a long period of time. These unique, aesthetic, and cottage-like Soviet beaches are pretty similar to the ones in Canada.

4. Stroll around and take a photograph of the Cathedral of the Resurrection

Photo via Google Images. Outside of the Cathedral of the Resurrection, where I would love to take a nice photograph

Just like when I visit my favourite Markham neighborhood Cathedraltown which is known for its famous building called The Cathedral of the Transfiguration, I would take some photographs on my iPhone, as I walk outside of the facility. This majestic, vibrant, red-bricked, yet colossal cathedral in Yoshkar Ola would satisfy my need for spiritual and architectural photography! In addition to simply walking outside the facility and taking photographs, I would love to find a spot near the cathedral in which I can have one of my "five minute mindful moments". During those moments, I like to look at the building as a form of meditation.

5. Enjoy some delicious food at a local restaurant

Photo via Google Images. One of Yoshkar Ola's local restaurants: Barashek Restaurant

Similar to most travellers, I believe that no trip should be better without some good food! Out of the several restaurants in Yoshkar Ola that I discovered on the web, Barashek Restaurant is one of the high-profiled, top-notch Eastern European and Asian fusion restaurants. Although I'm a pescetarian, I wouldn't mind having the odd meat dish as a treat. It's vacation, so why not treat myself?! One of my all-time favourite Central Asian dishes is Uzbek plov, so hopefully I'll feast on a nice, hearty plate of plow at the local Barashek Restaurant in Yoshkar Ola.

6. Enjoy a dessert at My Gelato Cafe

Photo via Google Images. Gelato!!! Mmmm..... yummy in my tummy!

Even though I'm in Russia, I can never go wrong with ice cream! Ice cream will be an impeccable highlight of my trip, because I would most likely be visiting during the warmer months, as opposed to during the cold, freezing winter months. Us Canadians love to eat ice cream at any time of the year, but I don't know about the Russians. A few of my favourite ice cream flavours are Cookies and Cream, Mint Chocolate Chip, Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter and Chocolate, and Strawberry. When I visit this local gelato shop, I'll probably indulge on a double serving of ice cream; one flavour would be mint chip, another would be cookies and cream or any other flavour I choose at the time. Depending on the weather, I would either eat it at a local park or inside the cafe.

7. Shop for some books at a local bookstore

Photo via Google Images. Two pieces of merchandise at Nashi Knigi: A Russian language historical novel and a plush toy.

Out of many things that I enjoy doing domestically and internationally, books are always on the top of my list. Whether I plan to purchase books or bring my own books from home, I can never go wrong with books when I'm travelling to a new country. Since I have the gift to read Russian, going to a Russian bookstore won't be a dilemma for me, except for the fact that I may spend an hour trying to find a good read! I would really love to buy a good Russian book that I can take back to Canada with me, even if it is just one book for a really cheap price!

8. Tour around the Museum of the History of Yoshkar Ola

Outside the museum in Yoshkar Ola, Russia. It has been opened since Septembr 30 1996.

Since I'll be visiting Yoshkar Ola as opposed to any other city/town in Mari El, I believe that it will be imperative for me to learn a bit about the history of Yoshkar Ola. By doing that, I would enjoy touring around a museum. I'm a visual and linguistic learner, so I would need to read and see images to retain information faster. I'm also a kinesthetic learner, so I'll need to walk around as I learn and read the information. Even though I'm a history buff, there are particular topics of history that I enjoy more than others such as ancient history. I will also aim to find exhibits that discuss the cultural, ethnic, artistic, sociological, and geographical parts of Yoshkar Ola. Hopefully, I will learn a lot, remember and share the spectacular things I discovered at the museum with my friends and family!

Photo via Twitter. A children's storybook in Meadow Mari

Photo via Twitter. A children's storybook in Hill Mari

europe
4

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.