Wander logo

My Crazy Adventure Across the World's Most Dangerous Land : Deadly trip to Islamabad from Kabul

I knew that there were Taliban and Al-Qaeda militants hiding out in the mountains. I was terrified, and I knew that my life was in danger.

By Alain SaamegoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

As I sit here in a dirty Islamabad guesthouse, my mind drifts back to the journey that got me here.

It all started about two weeks ago, when I got a call from a contact in Pakistan. He told me that there was a way for me to get into the country through the tribal areas near the Afghan border.

"The routes are dangerous, but it can be done," he said. "There are people who can help you."

I was skeptical, but I had been wanting to visit Pakistan for years, and I was intrigued by the idea of taking a route that few Westerners had ever traveled.

I packed my bags and said goodbye to my friends and family, not knowing what awaited me on the other side of the border.

The first day of the journey, I took a taxi to the edge of Kabul and then hiked for a few hours through the rugged mountains that separate Afghanistan from Pakistan.

I remember the exact moment when I realized my life was in danger. I was in a taxi, en route from Kabul to the Pakistani border. The car was speeding down a dark rural road, and I could see the mountains in the distance. I knew that the Pakistani border was just a few miles away, and I also knew that there were Taliban and Al-Qaeda militants hiding out in the mountains. I was terrified, and I knew that my life was in danger.

At one point, I had to cross a river that was swollen with the spring runoff. I was hesitant to cross, but my contact had told me that there was a bridge a few miles upstream. I followed his instructions and found the bridge, but it was too dangerous to cross.

I had been in Afghanistan for several months, and I had seen first-hand the violence and hardship that the Taliban and Al-Qaeda had caused. I knew that these militants were dangerous, and I was afraid that they would target me.

I was starting to regret my decision to make this journey. It was already proving to be more difficult than I had anticipated. But I had come too far to turn back now, so I continued on my way. The next few days were even more difficult, as I had to cross a series of mountain ranges that were covered in snow.

Finally, I arrived at the Pakistani border. I was exhausted and ready to be done with this journey, but I still had to cross the tribal areas, which is where the real danger begins.

The tribal areas are a lawless place, where the Taliban and other militant groups operate with impunity. I knew that I was taking a risk by traveling through them, but I was determined to reach my final destination.

Thankfully, I made it to the safe house in the town of Miranshah without incident. I had been on the road for nine days, and I was ready for a break.

I spent the next few days in Miranshah, resting and preparing for the next leg of my journey. I knew that it would be the most dangerous part, as I would be traveling through the tribal areas at night.

But I was determined to make it to my final destination, so I set out into the darkness. I had been told that there were checkpoints throughout the tribal areas, but I didn't know what to expect.

I was relieved when I made it to the safe house in Islamabad without incident. I had traveled more than 600 miles, and I was finally in Pakistan.

I still had a lot of traveling to do, but at least I was in a safe place. I can't help but wonder what awaits me on the rest of my journey. I may be in for more danger than I bargained for, but I'm determined to see it through.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Alain Saamego

Software engineer , Writer and Content Strategist at Selfgrow.co.uk

I'm a technology enthusiast, and I love learning about upcoming technologies. I also enjoy teaching and answering questions about new technologies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.