Wander logo

My 5 Budget Travel Tips

How I travel without breaking the bank

By Amber LaVinePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
2
My 5 Budget Travel Tips
Photo by Dino Reichmuth on Unsplash

Let's be honest, 2020 was rough. As things begin to open up and return to normal we are also thinking about getting back on the road. Traveling again, weather domestically or internationally, is something many of us are ready for.

Travel can be expensive. I know people who save for years to go on vacation. I also know people, like me, who travel pretty frequently. Wheather I am spending 3 months in Africa or a weekend in New England I always like to travel cheap without sacrificing fun.

By Stéphan Valentin on Unsplash

1. Sleep cheap: I am not talking about Hostels, that is frequently an option but if you are at all like me you like your own space at the end of the day. When I am traveling in the US I am a big fan of hotel booking sites. I traveled the Eastern half of the US for nearly 2 months earlier this year and rarely paid over $50 a night for good hotel rooms. They aren't super fancy but they allow me my own space to get a good night's sleep. I have also utilized couchsurfing.com. The site offers ID verification and you can talk to hosts ahead of time. Couchsurfing is a site that matches travelers with hosts who have a place to offer. I have had everything from a couch to sleep on to a room and my own set of keys. On the other side of that, I have also chosen to camp. I spent a week at a campground in Myrtle Beach and it allowed me to spend the money saved on other fun activities. Sleeping cheap can really open up your vacation.

By todd kent on Unsplash

2. Take Advantage of Walking Tours: Walking tours can be a wonderful, inexpensive way to see a new city. In London, I took the Strawberry Tours Jack the Ripper tour. It was fun and informative. They offer tours all over the world. Most cities also have local historic or tourist groups that host tours. You can find anything from entertainment or history tours to food and beer. It's a fun way to see a city and meet new people.

By Igor Miske on Unsplash

3. Free Museums/ Historic Sites: A vast majority of cities offer free museums. They typically aren't small either. In Washington DC all government-owned museums are free to enter. The British Museum in London is one of my favourite freebies. The other thing that is typically free are National Historic sites. In the US the National Park Service offers a fantastic app that shows all of the National Park Service parks and sites. You may be surprised by how many there are. The parks do usually have an entry fee but the NPS offers a passport that will offer more entry at a lower rate.

By chan lee on Unsplash

4. Take advantage of public transportation: Public transportation can be a great way to see a city or save time. When I go to New York I buy an MTA card for my time there. I find that it saves me money compared to a taxi or rideshare and I can still get where I need to go. In London however, I opted for the bus. I hopped on their iconic double-decker busses and sat up front on the top level to get a good view of the city. The first two days I was in the city I took the bus everywhere I needed to go. It allowed me to really check out central London and I felt like I knew where I was going by the third day. Public transportation is also helpful if you are going somewhere that is hard to park. In both New York City and Boston, I like to park outside the city and take the train or subway into the city so I don't have to find parking or pay for an expensive lot.

By James Sutton on Unsplash

5. Find out where the locals eat: Locals typically don't eat at the expensive, tourist-ridden restaurants. When I am planning a trip I will make an entire Pinterest board on where to eat. I like to find places where I will feel like a local. If you are in a place that serves street food that is always a fantastic and inexpensive option. Some of the most delicious food I've ever tried has been served on a stick or wrapped in deli paper. Check out the menus, you can look at the price points ahead of time. When I am traveling in the US I usually eat for $10 a meal, give or take a couple of dollars. I always end up enjoying my meal and I have found some amazing food this way that I would have missed out on.

By Casey Horner on Unsplash

Pro Tip: If you are looking for a place to eat and you need a suggestion ask a police officer. Don't go chasing one down but if there happens to be one around they are a fantastic resource. Firefighters and EMTs are also good to ask. They know who has had inspections issues and who hasn't and they know who serves the best of everything. This method has never failed me. I found The Black Rose in Boston by asking an officer in Quincy Market. I was also directed to Blues City Café in Memphis and that was a meal for the books.

budget travel
2

About the Creator

Amber LaVine

Amber is a web developer and blogger and master of the "5" list. She is also a wanderlust who is always on the lookout for a bargain."There is no reason to break the bank to travel."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.