Wander logo

Mount Pilatus - Heaven on earth

The picture says it all

By Allwyn Roman WaghelaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
12
Beauty at it`s best

Although I am originally from India however, I am residing in Switzerland as an MBA student for a period of 1 year & 6 months. This is my first foreign country experience & before visiting this country I had no idea how my experience would be. As soon as I arrived at the Zurich airport around 7 in the evening, I was excited, nervous, thrilled & kind of confused at the same time like mixed emotions running all over me. I also had no clue where to pick up my baggage from but when I asked the airport staff, they assisted me quite promptly and politely. Then the college car came to pick me up & I had quite a playful conversation with the driver in which we were exchanging some awesome words about our respective countries. It was more like a cultural exchange. While on my way to college I was beyond excited to see the swiss streets, roads, buildings etc.

So, as soon as I arrived at my college, I received quite a warm welcome from the students over there all belonging to different nationalities. I too gave a brief intro about myself to them. After one week of college, we were taken to the top of Mount Pilatus in Luzern which is also known as the popular mountain for excursion as a part of our annual trip which I never knew would turn out to be one of my most memorable experience. Sitting on a cable car exploring the aerial view of the city, mountain ranges & forest was altogether quite an enticing experience. The top can also be reached with the Pilatus Railway, the world's steepest cogwheel railway, from Alpnachstad, operating from May to November (depending on snow conditions). After reaching on the top of Mount Pilatus we were given an intro of the mount history. I couldn`t even believe that there`s an awesome hotel at top of the mountain with a dragon symbol on it which we visited as well. So, we were taken to the hotel where we saw the most luxurious rooms that includes standard double room, superior double room & Junior suite. The restaurant area has a marvellous Victorian design right from tables & chairs to the bar area. While on her tour to Switzerland Queen Victoria did visit this hotel. The hotel visit was very important as it gave us a lot of insights about the hotel industry which is very important as a part of our hospitality management studies.

I had never been in snow before and seeing the beautiful snow covering the mountains & coniferous trees as well as wonderful birds flying do make me believe that heaven does exist on earth. On top of the mount Christmas market also opens up beginning from the early November which has wonderful Christmas stuff. Playing with snow & clicking pictures with friends was just too lit. Even in a temperature like -4 degree Celsius this place was so full of tourist with most of them coming from countries like China & India. Loads of winter sports are offered over here as well. I do consider myself as an explorer & this place satisfied my exploratory motive to the fullest.

Times were such carefree as Covid-19 did not exist back then. I honestly have no idea when normal times be back again however, with the emergence of vaccination there is a hope. I would conclude by saying that visiting this beautiful place & getting to know this place in depth is honestly one of my best experiences in this country & this will perpetually be memorable for me.

europe
12

About the Creator

Allwyn Roman Waghela

I am a professional blogger, writing about topics such as travel, food, and lifestyle thus, showcasing my creativity and communication skills.

YouTube

Instagram

LinkedIn

Threads

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶24 days ago

    I thoroughly enjoyed ‘visiting’ Mt Pilatus with you! I have always wanted to ride the gondola, enjoy the view & experience the Pilatus Railway, the world's steepest cogwheel railway. My son was obsessed with trains decades ago when he was young… this was a favourite of his. Great read.✅

  • Tomos Jackson2 months ago

    Sounds like a lovely place to visit. I am surprised that there is a place called the Queen Victoria in Switzerland. I was unaware that something like a foreign queen, even on of so prominent a state as the British Empire, would even be noticed by the Swiss, who I've always thought of as keeping very much to themselves. However, I think my conclusion are based more on a lack of knowledge than real experience, so thank you for filling in that gap for me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.