Wander logo

Mid-Autumn Memories

memory

By moladdaPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

The Mid-Autumn Festival has a special meaning for every Chinese person because of the Chinese people's love for the moon. The Mid-Autumn Festival is given extra importance because of the moon, and the moon is extra beautiful because of the Mid-Autumn Festival. The moon is in the north: the bright moon comes out of the sky and the sea of clouds. The moon is in the south: the moon is born on the sea, and the sky is at the end of the earth. "The moon is on the top of the fountain, and the people are after dusk. The bright moon is a reflection of human feelings, and people are in love with the moon. The moon shines brightly on the earth, and people's hearts are warmed by love. The love of the moon has infiltrated the bones of every Chinese person.

I also love the mid-autumn moon, the coolness and brightness of autumn, and the purity and brightness of the autumn moon. If there is no weather, every mid-autumn festival, I will enjoy the moon outdoors. Either looking for a corner to sit in or walking alone under the moon, enjoying the coolness, brightness and peace of the mid-autumn night. The moonlight is beautiful when you are happy, and it is sad when you are disappointed. I have to start from my childhood to have this kind of feelings. When I was a child, the earliest poem I could recite was: "The moonlight in front of the bed is suspected to be the frost on the ground; raise your head to look at the moon and think of your hometown." This was taught to me by my mother before I went to school. On the mid-autumn night when I was five years old, my mother taught me this poem, "Silent Night Thoughts" by Li Bai. That night, my mother sat in the courtyard with us four sisters to watch the moon, and she gave each of us a moon cake and an apple. We were eating and playing in the courtyard when suddenly my mother called me by my maiden name and asked me to come to her and teach me this poem. At first, I snuggled into my mother's arms and recited it word for word, but after a few times, I left her arms, put my hands behind my back, looked up at the moon, lowered my head, and walked around the yard reciting it, just like a little adult. My mother called me by my maiden name and praised me several times, saying I was smart. Suddenly, for a while, my mother did not speak. I came up to my mother and saw her in tears in the moonlight. At that time, I did not know why my mother was in tears, but I subconsciously used my sleeve to wipe away the tears at the corners of my mother's eyes. It was not until these years that I gradually understood that my mother was missing her grandparents in a distant land. In those years, my mother worked in the countryside, we sisters are small, one is two years older than the other, my mother is busy working, the children are small, we dragged my mother. In addition, the traffic is not convenient, grandmother's home from the mother's work place, although only a hundred kilometers, but to backtrack several times, mother did not go back to her mother's home for many years, to visit grandparents. Later, when we were older, my mother was transferred to work in the city. But she still had to go to work and take care of us at school, and only on our holidays could she go back to her mother's house to see her grandparents, but because of her work, she was in a hurry to get there. In a few years, my grandparents died one after another, and my mother always regretted not being able to take good care of the two old people. Oh, the moon sends her thoughts to her grandparents, and my mother sends her thoughts to them in the mid-autumn moon.

Little boys are the most difficult to bring up, someone has to keep up with them, and without adult control at home, they may get into trouble. There was no kindergarten, preschool or anything, and my mother had to work, so I had no choice but to bring my father to my grandmother's house in the fall when I was six years old. Although my grandmother's house was in the same county as ours, it was in two watersheds: the Yellow River basin on our side and the Yangtze River basin on my grandmother's side. Grandmother's side of the terrain is higher, compared to much colder. Even in summer, you have to wear a jacket at night to feel comfortable. Grandma's house has no walls and is located in the bend of a mountain that turns from the southeast. The main house is facing the south is a hillock, the mountain is not high, the top is full of low pine trees, the branches of the trees are full of pine towers. The wind passed by, pine waves, pine fragrance soaked lungs, the memory still remains. The vegetation on the mountain was very good, and the wild flowers under the trees were mixed. For me, who had long lived in the Weihe River basin, there were so many things that were rare. I don't know how many times I had to run up and down the mountain with my two brothers from my aunt's house all day long, and I played happily at my grandmother's house for a few months before my father picked me up at the beginning of winter. When I think about it now, the most beautiful thing is the night with the moon, the moon rises from the hillock in the east, and when the moon is full, it shines on the hillside, the pine needles look darker instead. The sound of the pine waves and the sound of insects and mountain springs, spread far and wide, because there is no human noise, but more apparent night quiet. After living in the city for more than 40 years, I can't leave behind the hustle and bustle of the city. Whenever it's late at night, I remember sitting on a small stool in my grandmother's lap on a mid-autumn night with the moon shining brightly, listening to her sing a nursery rhyme to me: "The moon is shining brightly, filling baskets and baskets, carrying them into the house, all leaking out." Grandmother's voice was low, soft and drawn out. Unconsciously Grandma's stopped and snapped a question: Do you miss your mother? I nodded my head. I looked up and saw tears hanging from the corners of my grandmother's eyes, and she swept me into her arms, tears dripping down my face. I didn't know why my grandmother was crying at the time, but I was so naive as to recite to her the "Silent Night Thoughts" that my mother taught me to cheer her up. When she saw me reciting it with my hands behind my back and my head down, she broke into tears and laughed. My grandfather, who was sitting at the side, asked me who taught you that, and I said it was my mother. My grandfather, who knew all about poetry and painting, got up and went into the house and didn't speak again that night. Oh, that's two old people missing their daughter!

Aunt is another woman who dotes on me and has an influence on me. Aunt's family is in the countryside and is considered a well-to-do family. The family has a large orchard, which has apples, pears, pomegranates, walnuts, apricots, pears and apples alone have several kinds. This in the seventies of the last century, the farming family, is absolutely rare. Every autumn, when the fruit is ripe, aunt in addition to relatives to send some, will be all the fruit divided into three, one is working outside the cousin, one is younger than my cousin, and one is my. Every year at mid-autumn, my aunt would point out the divided fruit to us: this is your brother's, don't touch it, this is yours, and this is my sister's. Auntie divided it very fairly, treating me as if I were her own child. The three of us put our fruit in three wooden boxes, and each of us ate our own, until around the Spring Festival. When I think of my late aunt over the years, I think of her telling me and my cousin about ancient plays during the full moon. Although I don't remember the stories she told us, but the moon shone brightly, the small courtyard cool breeze, insects chanting like weeping, my cousin and I, one left and one right, crouched on the lap of my aunt is still vivid in my mind. The most nostalgic thing is the innocence and peace of the children, where can we get it now?

Later, after learning more, I gradually understood that there is a bright moon in everyone's heart, sometimes round, sometimes missing. From the heart to the moon, from the moon to the heart. I like the meaning of "the bright moon shines in the pine, the clear spring flows on the stone", but I know that this kind of meaning is not elegant, and I can't get it by sticking to it; I like "the ancient people don't see the present moon, but the present moon used to shine on the ancient people. I like the penetration of "The ancient and the modern are like flowing water, looking at the moon together", but I also know that such a perception cannot be obtained by those who are not broad-minded and have a big heart; "I expect to break my heart every year, the night of the bright moon, the short pine post. Such poignant words are hard to come by without true feelings. I like Zhang Ruoxu's self-confidence as a human being in the face of spring, river, flowers, moon, and night, and his heart is full of optimism that "life is endless from generation to generation, and the bright moon is only similar year after year". Zhang Ruoxu, Wang Wei, Li Bai and Su Shi, they are phoenixes among men, and we should look up to them. Regardless of how Wang Wei writes, Li Bai expresses his feelings, how Su Shi is moved, how Zhang Ruoxu is open-minded, we look at the bright moon in our hearts, "not to be happy with things, not to be sad with oneself", and can often feel the bright moon's brightness, tranquility and peace, this is the real enjoyment.

culture
Like

About the Creator

moladda

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.