Wander logo

Manila Sunset

Yesteryear

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

2019 was an eventful year for me; travelling to eight countries, two mental breakdowns, moving out, and seeing two of my favourite singers; Christina Aguilera and Björk in concert. A lot of bad stuff happened, but a lot of good things happened as well. If I could describe last year in one image it would be this one: a picture of a sunset in Manila.

2019 was a challenging year for a lot of people. We didn’t expect 2020 to have the global pandemic that we are having now maybe we can look back and appreciate that maybe 2019 wasn’t as bad as we thought it was. For me, 2019 was a nice year despite the terrible cutbacks. This pandemic has helped me realise how active I was and the craziest thing is since this pandemic I actually have more money because I spend so much on outings. I had more money to buy those books and games that I always wanted.

In 2018 I started a new job and just before Christmas I got promoted. Things were going well for me I had a job that I loved and I had generous holiday entitle and pay which I took advantage off. Sadly the stress was too much and people said that I lost my mojo, had lots of work dumped on me and had very little support and no me time so I left and went back to my other job. I’m on less money now but I think I made the right decision. I wasn’t fit for a senior role for a setting I worked for less than a year. I’m still at my old job now. The grass isn't always greener on the other side - it's the same patch of grass in different lighting.

I think you have problems wherever you work. There’s always going to be bitching, bullying catfights and people moaning you’re going too slow but sometimes you just have to get on with it. That being said the pandemic crisis seems to have brought a lot of communities closer together than they were before. I still think there are a lot of important values to be learned through this crisis. I still miss the friends and clients I supported in the other job but I missed my colleagues and clients in the old job more.

Then in November, I moved into my own flat. It was the first time I felt like proper adult paying bills, council tax, weekly shopping and rent. Considering my age, I’m lucky to have a stable job, nice flat and friends scattered all over that I can go and see when the pandemic is over. Animal Crossing seems to be taking over my life at the moment. I've always loved New Leaf, but I like New Horizons just as much.

The day I took that picture of the Manila sunset was a magical day for me. I don’t mean magic by magic mushrooms. I like my drink but I’ve only taken drugs in Amsterdam where the sort of thing is tolerated. I went to one of the best conventions of my life and my friend’s family made me feel like a part of their family and I also met some online friends that I had known for years.

I’m missing those days already and I hope I can get up and travel again like I used to. I used to go to Oxford almost every week, London and Birmingham once or twice a month as well as going abroad several times a year. I really want to go out to these places again but I need to do my bit to keep the nation and the world safe.

For the time being when I’m not at work, I can entertain everyone with my stories, poems and pictures. Maybe some of my progress in animal crossing as well.

photography
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.