Wander logo

Magical Pebbles

Las Vegas, NV

By Krystal ChubirkaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
4
Seven Magic Mountains

Do you ever wake up one day and feel like just driving to a destination you've been thinking about? Well, this trip was one of those spontaneous feelings....

Being cooped up in my place because of COVID-19 restrictions had gotten me a bit stir crazy (me being a total extrovert). I am usually never home; I’m always either at the gym, out with friends or exploring the world. So, I looked up outdoor places to go that wasn't a National Park (they were all closed through the months of March, April and May). I wanted to go somewhere different than what I'm used to, and that's when I came across Seven Magic Mountains. I've been to Las Vegas so many times and never realized that there was a colorful art installation nearby! I told myself that next time I drive to Las Vegas I will commit to a quick stop at this magical place. Yea I was definitely kidding myself...not even a week later I woke up on a Saturday morning and decided I needed to get out of the state. My boyfriend, (who comes with me on almost all my travels) decided to join me on this long drive. Seven Magic Mountains here we come! 

From Phoenix, AZ to S.M.M was only about five hours (FYI: from Las Vegas to S.M.M. it is only a half hour!). You have to drive a mile or two on a service road to get to the parking lot, so don't be confused when you're driving next to the interstate and don't see anything yet. When we arrived, there were quite a lot of people there already; but that was to be expected since we got there around 1 PM. Walking up to the installation I instantly thought about magical pebbles in the middle of the desert....

Fun Fact: This attraction was created by an international artist named Ugo Rondinone, and was opened up to the public on May 11, 2016. It was originally supposed to stay open for only two years but because of its popularity the Bureau of Land Management issued a three-year permit extension. This amazing art installation will be on display until the end of 2021! (After reading my article I highly suggest putting this on your bucket list before then if you have not gone!)

The boulders were so bright with the sun hitting every color. I heard that the best time to take pictures would be in the evening with the sun setting or early morning. So if you want gorgeous sunset or sunrise photos with pops of color this would be the place! It was interesting to watch people gravitate to their color of interest, as if each rock was a mood magnet. My favorite one was the stack with the purple base. We brought a selfie/tripod stick for this trip, especially since my boyfriend and I were respecting social distancing restrictions. If you don't have a selfie stick that is also a tripod, I recommend this product called Fugetek.

Overall this magical pebble place was just what I needed to make my heart happy. I'm so glad my boyfriend decided last minute to share this spontaneous adventure with me. Never underestimate colors and how easily they can change your outlook of the day, or how it can bring out your inner child at heart. The best part is that it's just a priceless place to create moments. We only stayed for about an hour or so, taking pictures with our tripod, interacting with people and just soaking in the unity that this environment creates. Colors truly bring people together, and that's why it's considered magical....all seven mountains.

america
4

About the Creator

Krystal Chubirka

Free-Spirited Soul

Traveling & Fitness are my two favorite hobbies

Follow Me on IG: krystaldaynetravels

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.