Wander logo

Living in Alaska

A Day in the Life

By Autumn FryePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Living in Alaska
Photo by ruedi häberli on Unsplash

My father spent twenty years of his life serving in the Air Force, and it was during the first seventeen years of my life. Being considered an "Air Force brat" wasn't so bad. My siblings and I were used to it. We were used to moving around, seeing new places and making new friends. Military uniforms were the norm - we didn't do the "double-take" look like most people do - and we tuned out airplanes going by.

Although I spent the vast majority of my childhood living and growing up in California, I spent four years of it living in Anchorage, Alaska. My father had gotten orders to be stationed at Elmendorf AFB, Alaska for four years right after I finished the fifth grade. It was going to be an exciting and new experience for my entire family and I, as we knew living there was going to be a bit different. But we knew we were going to do it together.

When most people think of Alaska, they think of snow, igloos, Eskimos, and even that 30 Days of Night movie with the vampires. Alaska is known for getting plenty of stereotypes from those who have never lived or visited there. After I left Alaska and moved back to California, I heard some of the most crazy questions like, "Do people live in igloos there?", "Did you own a TV?", "Was it light/dark there all the time?", or my personal favorite, "Do you need a passport to travel to Alaska?" Some of the things I have heard were pretty ridiculous.

Now, here is what it is REALLY like living in Alaska.

For starters, people DO NOT live in igloos. Igloos are only used for emergency situations nowadays. There are actual houses in Alaska. Also, dog sleds are NOT a form of transportation, except during the annual Iditarod race held from Anchorage to Nome (Dog sledding or dog mushing is considered the state sport). People drive cars and trucks just like everyone else. There are also malls, movie theatres, grocery stores, and everything else you'd think to find there.

I don't know who came up with the "Do you need to have a passport to visit or live in Alaska?" question, but it is pretty funny. Alaska is a part of the United States, so no, you do not need a passport to visit or live there.

If you are an outdoorsy person, Alaska definitely is the place for you. There are plenty of outdoor activities to do in both the summer and winter months. There is hiking, biking, canoeing, fishing, sightseeing, ice fishing, snowboarding, skiing, snow shoeing, etc. There is plenty to do. And you have to deal with snow too for some of these activities obviously.

I have tried snowboarding, ice skating, and snow shoeing. I was not very good at any of them, but it was fun to know that I tried something that I know I would not do in very many other places.

Sightseeing was a must when my family and I first moved to Anchorage. We saw as many things as possible - we did all the touristy things during the first few months when we weren't trying to find a place to live .

The light/dark situation has always been a question on people's minds. During the summer months, it is light for 20-22 hours a day, with it being dusk the rest of the time. So people have to learn to sleep in daylight. It's not so bad once you get used to it. In the winter months, it is the opposite. At least during the winter, you will have the opportunity to see the Northern Lights on occasion. It is a breathtaking experience and I recommend putting it on your bucket list.

You may also come across some of the local wildlife while visiting or living in Alaska. It is normal to occasionally see a moose or bear walking down the middle of the street. When you do spot one, it is best to stay away for safety purposes. Speaking of moose, someone actually thought of making jewelry out of actual moose droppings, specifically necklaces and earrings. It is a real thing. You can find them at any gift shop in Alaska, and possibly online now.

Trying some of the local food was also interesting when living in Alaska. The seafood is always fresh. There is smoked salmon jerky that is really good. If you are a meat eater, caribou, reindeer, moose, or bear is worth trying. Also the Eskimo ice cream is worth a try. Otherwise, the food is relatively normal.

Alaska also pays it's residents to live there after a year. Every year. It is an annual dividend that comes from the Alaskan pipeline/gas industry. It varies how much from year to year. But it is still nice to get some free money from the state. The cost of living there isn't so great anymore though.

Living in Alaska for four years was an amazing experience, although I do not know if I would want to do it again. Visiting the state in the future would be nice. I would recommend putting an Alaskan trip on your bucket list.

family travel
Like

About the Creator

Autumn Frye

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.