Wander logo

Leaving Home for NYC

100 Ways To Say Goodbye. (Part I of 2)

By Jehrod Rose AlainPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
2
Jehrod with Donna Karan in Sag Harbor, July 4th

Born and raised in Jackson, MS —— it’s not just home, it’s where my heart is located. It’s where my mother and all four of my grandparents are buried. It’s where my 5 sisters and nephews and newborn niece live.

It’s more than home.

The friendships I have forged here will remain a lifetime. From working at Cups in Fondren and creating the For the Love of Reading (FLOR) Book club to working in the non-profit world, the memories are mine.

They prove I have created a life of meaning right here.

These roots run deep, and deeper still.

And yet I know, and have known since I was 12 years old, New York City is where I belong.

Like a raging bull after a matador, I have danced in the moonlight of my dreams.

I have paused and began again.

In my mind’s eye, I have visited Manhattan every evening before bed.

Albert Einstein once said

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.”

And who am I to question Einstein?

Without further ado, and with only 108 days left, here is a list of things I want to do, see and experience before leaving home.

The List

1. Create Memories

From taking Pictures on my iPhone and Fujifilm instax 90 camera, to just being present, I intend to take it all in.

2. (through 31) Collect Visit JXN Passport Stamp Book

This purple book is a little known secret here but fascinating. Every time you go to one of the restaurants, museums or listed attractions, you get a stamp for your passport book. After the book is filled, you can say you've traveled all over Jackson!

32. Learn to Swim

The urban legend is true, most black people don't swim because we simply don't know how to.

I am one of them.

Maybe just maybe it has something to do with The Atlantic Slave Trade.

Who knows? But I'm ready to dive into the deep end.

33. Practice Biking More

When I was in NYC, I was fascinated by the bike lanes. What an efficient way to get around. And you don't even have to own a bike, just rent one from Citi Bike!

34. Create YouTube Channel Documenting Transition from Jackson, MS to NYC

As if the world needs another YouTube channel, right? but like Marie Forleo says,

"You're a precious soul with so much to create and contribute to this world."

35. Take Fencing Class

I just don't think there's a more beautiful or graceful sport! I want to have my stab at it and believe it or not, Jackson has one of the greatest fencers.

36. Celebrate Big Family Occasions

Like my dad’s 60th Birthday and my newborn niece Nova Rose entering the firmament of my family's night sky.

Love is the memories you create and cherish with those you love.

This will be the hardest part of leaving home, for sure.

37. Finish SELF-LOVE YOGA WITH JEHROD Series at The Eco Shed.

I am so grateful to Salam, Travis and the entire Eco Shed team for making this dream a reality. I held my first class almost 2 months ago now, and it has taken off. Now we're offering virtual streaming classes in addition to limited in-person spots.

Get your tickets! Only 9 classes left!

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/self-love-yoga-with-jehrod-tickets-161686140599?aff=ebdsoporgprofile

38. save. Save. SAVE.

It goes without saying, NYC is expensive. In an effort to become better at saving money, creating and sticking to a budget, and did I mention save, I am open to any book recommendations, financial advice and your plug to any investment gurus. Tips also go a long way. (:

39. Visit Petrified Forest

Located in Flora, MS, this 36 million year old time-capsule is a thing of beauty. I have never been, but plan to do so.

40. Dance to The Blues in the MS Delta

I love the blues, and Mississippi is known for its plethora of artist. From Robert Johnson to B.B King.

41. Interview Legendary Jesse Robinson

You may know him as a blues guitarist and music ambassador Jesse Robinson, but I know him as Uncle Jesse. He is full of knowledge and knows a lot about the blues and gardening. I enjoy spending time with him and look forward to sharing our interview here soon!

42. And of course, Visit B.B King Museum

43. Sing Jazz, LIVE

Jazz is my favorite genre and this has been a dream of mine for a while.

If it happens, will you come?

44. Write More, Here on Vocal and In-Print.

I love Vocal Media! It is my intention to publish more essays, poetry and long form writings here. Be sure to subscribe!

45. See Harry Connick Jr. in Concert

The last concert I attended before the pandemic was at Thalia Mara and of course if was Mr. Harry Connick Jr.

Ever the consummate performer, I was wowed by his engagement, humor and complete charm.

His "Alone With My Faith" album is definitely getting me through the uncertainty of the moment.

He'll be at The Brandon Amphitheater August 28th!

46. Bright Lights, Belhaven Nights

A staple in the Belhaven community, BLBN offers live music, good food and community. I'll be there with my mask on, but smiling no less.

47. Tasting Menu at Elvie’s Restaurant

Hands down, one of the best restaurants in town. Chef Hunter is a culinary genius and his passion for food is palpable.

Try the tasting menu or order the Redfish Almondine. It's a classic.

48. Write Letters To People Who Inspire Me

I've been fortunate to forge some really great relationships with people here. I want them to know just how much they've helped me grow by sharing my sentiments with them.

49. Cook More...

50. And finally, ENJOY

There really is no place like Mississippi. I consider it an honor to have been born here.

Thank you for reading and stay tuned for Part 2. I hope it encouraged you on some level. If you found any value in this piece, feel free to live a tip to say thanks and encourage this writer to keep writing.

Follow me on IG @m.jehr.

list
2

About the Creator

Jehrod Rose Alain

Jehrod Rose Alain is a writer seeking to find meaning through poetry, yoga, kindness, mindfulness and the virtues of love. Based in Jackson, MS, he can often be found at his favorite coffee shops with a good book and a cappuccino.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.