Wander logo

Kolchak and Kodak

My introduction to photography

By Yvette McDermottPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Looking for garter snakes near the Cave and Basin, Banff National Park

I got my first camera when I was a kid, and my first role model for a photographer was Kolchak: The Night Stalker. As far as I remember he always had his camera and recorder with him on his investigations as a newspaper reporter. He wasn't really a photographer, but he used his camera to take shots while researching amazing stories that were not always what they seemed. This appealed to me greatly at my young age.

My dad didn't know Kolchak was my main inspiration for wanting a camera, but he bought me one for my birthday one year. It came in a yellow and white box, and it was a Kodak camera. I was ecstatic about this gift even though I had been pestering him for one because after watching Kolchak, I seemed to NEED one. I also remember going to a summer camp where we had a variety of activities that we could choose from on our stay there. One of the activities I signed up for was to develop black and white film. That doesn't sound exciting but after I did it, I was even more hooked on cameras and taking pictures.

When I was developing my black and whites at camp that year, I also remembered Kolchak doing this on television and now I was doing the exact same thing. I had a feeling of camaraderie with a man who didn't exist, but as a kid that was a small detail which I was willing to overlook and did. Kolchak would be developing his pictures of his incredible finds which always seemed to have supernatural connections. I always envisioned myself like Kolchak with my little Kodak camera. He seemed to always have it handy, but the one thing I did not want to have is the film developing problems he always seemed to have.

These days I have a little digital camera plus my phone camera that I take my pictures with when I'm out and about the town and country. My usual excursions are to the mountains or sometimes the Badlands. I always bring my camera with me as part of my enjoyment is to take pictures of the beauty of the landscape or if I'm lucky enough to catch any of the inhabitants also out, but in search of food. I'm sure if I were with Kolchak we'd be in search of Bigfoot, some ancient dinosaur reputedly living in the mountain waters, or some other supernatural creature.

In July 2020 I had gone to Banff National Park unaware that my destination was closed or at least closed as far as I, my brother and my three grandkids were concerned. We wanted to go to Johnston Canyon and up to the Inkpots, but apparently the road was closed except if you bike up. I am sure Kolchak would have found a way through as he always managed to in the show; he'd hide out behind doors before scooting in or ride in hidden under a carpet or garbage. In my small car with kids from 4 to 11, we had to change our plans because unfortunately I couldn't ride the kids in on the waves like I imagine Kolchak would have done to get his story or pictures. This change of plans moved us into Banff to the Cave and Basin which was also closed, but here we decided to walk along the trails and explore.

Little did I know that snakes were all around this area probably due to the hot springs all around us. We saw a few garter snakes all around here and they probably did feel comfortable because although there were some other people hiking the trails, the parking lot was far from full. Many of the attractions were closed in Banff due to Covid-19 including Banff Hot Springs which was a farther drive up the mountain, but there were hot springs all around us where we hiked. This is what keeps these snakes alive in the mountains as it keeps them nice and toasty where otherwise they would freeze to death. I guess this is another case of things are not always as they seem (thanks Kolchak). Normally I had thought I wouldn't find snakes in the Rockies due to the cold temperatures, but never gave it a thought that the hot springs have additional life forms.

Garter snake enjoying the day in relative peace

This one in the picture was on the side of the mountain seemingly enjoying the day. There was no sun out at this time and the day still seemed on the cooler side even for July. As we continued to walk around my brother spotted a larger one on the pavement closer to the Cave and Basin. The grandkids of course were looking over the ledges trying to spot some garter snakes on their own. If you go on this hike during July, bring plenty of bug spray or citronella. The mosquitoes were out in hordes that day, and we were all kept moving along trying to keep ahead of those bites. I am not afraid of garter snakes, but nonetheless their quick movements can make you jump at times. I was on a ledge when I took this picture because if I had moved down, I'm sure it would have left the area quickly. As I recall Kolchak had to take pictures from farther distances than this, so this was a cinch.

Banff National Park has many animals that are a photographers' dream. They have black bears, bighorn sheep, mountain goat, moose, elk, deer, cougars and many more. I've seen all of these except for the cougar before (in the wild) and I've taken pictures of black bears, bighorn sheep, mountain goat, moose and deer, but all of those were not taken in Banff so it seems odd to me that one of my photographic captures was a garter snake which doesn't seem like anything you'd find here. Although I'd love to share a photograph of bigfoot with everyone, I think finding garter snakes high in the mountains is also quite a find. Something that would not be expected. If I do get that picture of sasquatch though, expect another story.

nature
Like

About the Creator

Yvette McDermott

I am a grandma of three; I enjoy hiking, reading, cooking and Halloween. I mainly enjoy historical and horror films or books. I also enjoy exploring old sites and taking pictures.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.