Wander logo

It’s great to have a reality shock!

The reality is already changing but there is an abysmal difference between the Western reality and the African reality and in this article I will tell you about the reality shock I had.

By Dalmy AlvesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
It’s great to have a reality shock!
Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

In the middle of 2018, I had the privilege of receiving some Brazilian missionaries in my house and I was able to hear their stories.

They were young like me, I'm short, they were huge, but I was still older than a lot of them and I was very keen to get to know myself and hear my stories, my achievements and failures.

We talked a lot but when they told about them I was shocked, the more I listened to their stories the more I was shocked by the abysmal difference of realities, Brazil is more developed than Angola but we don't have much cultural difference.

Even the smallest of the group had already visited more countries than me, so far I'm building a portfolio of stocks and cryptocurrencies so that in the future I will love travelling with my family, but what I meant is that I never left my country, 2022 I'm 26 years old and I've never taken an international trip, how sad, isn't it? Yes, I also think so, but it's because I wasn't raised to see the world like them, I was raised not to show who I am, what I have, otherwise, I would attract evil from people and I wouldn't be happy, but that's not true, with evil or envy of people it is possible to be happy and live life in the best way possible.

Two of the young women came with their parents who were the leaders of the mission group and the way they raised their daughters left me incredibly shocked, happy, inspired and eager to live and launch myself into the world.

And you know what? It's great to have a real shock! it did me very well, today I have a new outlook on life when it comes to using my money to see places, the world is to be known because amazing places are waiting for us, and you dear writers/readers? When did you have a reality check that did you good (leave it in the comments)?

Well, they only stayed for a weekend, they were already returning to Brazil and invited me to be in their homes when I go to Brazil, they went but they left a good seed in me, we still communicate through Instagram.

Even the shocks that end up hurting you one day generate something good in you and I don't know about your reality, but where I live Angola, Africa is very different, often even adults or even married people still live in their parents' houses, it's absurd not It's?

If you want, I can talk more about this.

Our way of coexistence greatly influences the person we are or that we have become, bad influences corrupt good habits, sooner or later living with those who do not have good things to add you will become similar and this is a fact.

But if you live with those who have good things to add, you get where you intend or where you never dreamed of reaching, I am experiencing things that exceeded my expectations, all because I connected with amazing people.

Dear writers/readers, through my articles and stories, I want to make you know more about me to better understand why I came here, why I became an entrepreneur, why I became an investor and finally, why I became a writer on Vocal, I believe that with many of you we will be able to meet each other outside Vocal, maybe we will be partners, but finally, I wanted to tell you this story.

I wish all writers/readers every success.

africaculturefamily travelsouth america
4

About the Creator

Dalmy Alves

I'm a young dreamer who seeks to make many dreams come true, one of them is to make a living from writing, I love to write about everything, including the things I love the most, so stay here, maybe you'll identify with me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.