Wander logo

Identity

The Struggles of a Multicultural Individual

By Nadia AlexandriaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Bijlmer, Amsterdam | 2019 |

"Where are you from?" She asked after hearing my oddly American-ish accent.

"Um...Well, I'm American—to make it simple. Um, yeah." I replied awkwardly.

This awkward dialogue happens every time I meet someone new. After taking those three seconds to come up with a seemingly simple answer, I think to myself: Isn't this bad? Isn't it bad that I don't know what or who I identify with? These thoughts circle around my head like annoying mosquitoes that you can't shake off.

By passport, I am American—born and raised. However, in terms of my ethnic and cultural background, I am half Iranian and half Guyanese.

Growing up in the United States meant that I was around classic American culture all the time: hot dogs, hamburgers, football, the YMCA the whole lot! Simultaneously, I was being indulged into Iranian culture with my mom and relatives. Nowrooz (Persian New Year) was a celebration we held every year without a doubt, traditional food like "Kabob Koobideh", different stews known as "khoresht" and rice dishes known as "polo." These are foods that I cannot live without today, these are spices I reach for, and the flavors I crave.

I have not learned or indulged in Guyanese culture at all actually, therefore, that part of me is completely unknown and almost feels missing. I believe that this unknown has made it difficult for me to accept that I am a woman of color. As I have always been around predominantly white and middle eastern communities, I was barely faced with the fact that I am indeed a bi-racial individual. Luckily, through my journey of self acceptance and worth, I have come to slowly embrace my skin color and who I am on the outside. However, would I say identify with black women? No. But, would I say I'm middle eastern instead? Not at all. So again, I find myself struggling to fit myself in the right box which is a metaphor for these communities for me. This begs the question: Do I need to fit in a box at all?

When I was nine-years-old I moved to Doha, Qatar with my family. It felt like the best five years of my life. Doha really felt like home to me simply because I was surrounded by people from literally everywhere. I had friends who were born in Singapore but were Swedish-Australian living in Doha. I felt like I wasn't the only one. In those moments I finally realized that that is what I identified with—that is why I felt so at home. I felt like I didn't need to fit in a box, because no one else fit in a box either and that was important to me. Everyone else had the same response to the question "Where are you from?" and everyone else had a hard time giving simple answer.

After moving to Luxembourg in 2014, I realized that there were less and less people like me. I barely felt connected to anyone like I did in Doha. As a matter of fact, I remember being the only woman of color in my class. Although, on the streets of Luxembourg I was often mistaken for someone from Cape Verde or Brazil. It really confused me in terms of what I thought of myself—at first. But again, the thought that perhaps I didn’t need to fit in any box and my identity is what I make it often circled around my head. Identity is not what anybody perceives me as or what society considers me as.

Fast forward to 2018, I moved to Amsterdam. This city is big, bold, charming and very multi-cultural. Once I was able to set up a home of my own, and incorporate traditions and values of my own, I realized that whether I like it or not where I’ve travelled and lived has had an impact on me. Whether I like it or not, where I was born and raised has an impact on who I am as a person. Likewise with the cultures and traditions that I grew up with. As an independent individual, it is up to me to create my own personal culture by holding on to the “bits and bobs” (British phrase I picked up...) of everything that has made me who I am today. If anything, I feel so blessed to have experienced so much in so little time. It has made me a more open, accepting and enriched individual and that is not something anyone can take away from me.

humanity

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nadia AlexandriaWritten by Nadia Alexandria

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.