Wander logo

I'll Go to Amsterdam

Los Angeles, Manila, Chicago, and other home cities.

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

THURSDAY

APRIL 9, 2020

I actually dreamt that I was running a 5K at the Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles. I was there this past November.

I shifted my perspective. I had 54 minutes from the time that I woke up until the rain storm hit. According to my weather alert, we were expecting heavy winds and hale as well. I got myself dressed and headed out to my daily journaling session on my fire escape. I wrote a lot, and I wrote well. I was pleased with myself. BUT it was getting colder and in my rush to get out there, I didn't put on socks. But UGH, I can't get writing done in such a confined space. My desk is not a desk, remember? I climbed inside and simply moved my chair to a far corner of my apartment. Who knew?

I weighed in this morning at 134 pounds. A loss of 3.4 pounds. This is not necessarily my goal. Simply a benefit. According to Garmin, my period is four days late. Yes, I allow Garmin to follow my menstrual cycle. Why not? And I am feeling the effects of PMS, but not as extreme. Time away from work? Hmmmm. My gut is a little bloated and puffy. Which is why I was surprised by my weight loss.

I did 15 minutes of Full Practice yoga. Downward Dog App. After encouragement from a dear friend and former co-worker. We are going to try to encourage each other to continue.

My festive meal was a torta from Al Vegano Vegan Mexican Grill. It was so damn good. Right here in my neighborhood. Plus sweet potato fries, that were actually baked. I could barely eat them. The sandwich was so filling. Saved them for tomorrow. 9112 3rd Avenue, Brooklyn.

@Garmin

@GriffithObservatory

@DownDogApp

.....................................

I spent my 40th birthday in Amsterdam. I had never been out of the country before. I chose Amsterdam because Jay claimed he had no desire to see Paris or Rome. I believe it was just an excuse. He was 61 at the time, quite agoraphobic, who found very few reasons to leave the comfort of his dark, roach infested, smoke filled shoe box. We were working with an incredible, Oscar winning actor at the time, who looked at me and asked, "why doesn't Jay want to go to Paris or Rome with you?" Things that make you go hmmmm.

In a seemingly throw away pass, I looked at him at the Theater one day and I said "Amsterdam. How 'bout Amsterdam."

"I'll go to Amsterdam."

I was on Expedia before you could say "dot com."

What an amazing city: the things we saw, the canals, the architecture, the cannabis we smoked, the fries and waffles we ate. All of this trip's beauty grew, as we took it all in. Jay was amazed by my pace, and couldn't believe my ability to negotiate getting around. The streets, the trams, the bike lanes, and here I was, a girl from Massapequa with her very first passport in her hand. I had never been there before yet I found the place to be easy and familiar. I suppose that is because even though I grew up in a suburb of New Amsterdam, I have always felt at home in the City.

10 years later, I was visiting friends in Los Angeles. On my 50th birthday, I decided to run the 13 miles between Venice and Redondo Beaches. I listened to the soundtrack of "Here Lies Love" by David Byrne. It was an awesome show I ushered, about Ferdinand and Imelda Marcos' rise to power.

Now running past LAX along the Pacific is both exhilarating and frightening. Those planes take off are so low. And although I love to travel and being in other places, I am scared to death of airplanes. But as I'm passing LAX, I am up to the song in which Ninoy Aquino is leaving Boston to return to Manila. He is saying goodbye to his family, probably forever. He knows that returning to his home country will result in his assassination.

"I can hear the announcement as they call China Airlines. This bullet proof vest is the best we can do. But if they aim for my head--"

WOOOOSH! A China Airline plane takes off so low over my head, I can almost reach the bottom.

And by the way, Jay was actually stationed in the Philippines the year I was born.

A few days ago I went out for a run, along the shore in Brooklyn. I am currently listening to "Becoming" by Michelle Obama. I was on the Belt Parkway overpass as Michelle is talking about her hometown. She actually said "Chicago" at the same exact time a man passed me wearing a grey Chicago shirt.

He did not have his face covered, but I did.

@DavidByrneOfficial

@HereLiesLove

@MichelleObama

@conradricamora

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.