Wander logo

I Choose One Country To Retire And Here Is Why

Philippines, Austria, Singapore, and Malaysia. These are the 4 countries I have access to live in and retire without the Covid

By Elvie LinsPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Davao City Philippines - By the Author

1. The Philippines

I was born in Davao Del Sur, the countryside of Mindanao in the Philippines.

Having to work in Singapore, I can often go back to Davao where my husband and I owned a decent apartment.

Pros and Cons

Davao city is a place to retire. In fact, many European coming here and buying property such as condominiums as Philippine Law allowing foreigners to buy a condominium unit or units in the Philippines.

Food-wise is not an issue, big brands and imported products from around the world are available in Davao city. If not, you can always buy it overseas and send it to the Philippines.

If you are opting for healthy eating such as cooking your own, fresh markets are everywhere. Great kinds of seafood and other meats are very much affordable as mostly they are locally grown or produce.

For Hospitals, Davao city has pretty advanced technology when comes to medical facilities. One hospital in Davao is called DAVAO DOCTOR’S HOSPITAL were fully equipped with those medical technologies. Alternatively, you can fly to the main capital Manila for medical needs.

Living in Davao City, you have access to lush nature. You can drive to the provinces and white sand beaches as far as you want. The mountainous region in the Southern part and white sand, and clear blue water beaches just amazing.

I am married to a white man. Some Filipinos still look at Filipino women who are married to white men are low-class citizens, perhaps maybe something else. Though not everyone is discriminating against people like going out with my husband around the city, I feel the bully of those people looking at us.

Entering into a Shopping Malls or into a Restaurant the Security guards will open the door for my husband while slams the door on me. Which causes some arguments sometimes.

Safety

The Earthquakes in Mindanao also fear me. In 2019, an earthquake hit Davao City that damages many buildings and condominiums including our apartment.

In general, in the Philippines, robberies, and thefts are loitering around in public places such as jeepneys and malls.

In the Davao City area itself, this is less likely to happen as long as you pay attention to your soroundings.

2. Austria

Spullersee in Austria by the Author

Being married to an Austrian for 16 years allowing me to stay in Austria. My husband preferred the country for retirement.

Pros and Cons

Austrian has is beautiful or maybe the best in the world for skiing areas. Beautiful mountains and lakes to hikes. 4 seasons of weather in a year are wonderful.

Food and wine seem to be much enjoyable as price-wise is super affordable compared to Asia.

Access to hospitals is not an issue. Perhaps it is more advance compare to the Philippines.

Traveling to another Schengen Estate is accessible. Driving to Italy is my favorite thing to do in Autumn and Summer.

In the summertime, you can go sailing and swim in the lake.

Outdoor parties during summer were a normal activity almost every day.

During the spring season, the environment is beautiful as the grass and crocuses sprouting everywhere.

In wintertime, the cold weather bothers me. I can hike the snowy mountain and enjoy skiing. But leaving 4 months in cold winter makes me sick. I preferred to be able to wear light clothing have the warm weather hits my skin.

I need to be able to speak and understand very well in German if I retire in Austria. People still preferred to speak German. I find it uncomfortable not to speak English to people who have limited German words like me. I knew in my heart that every one of them knows how to speak English these days. Perhaps just because my husband's hometown is a village, and I have been living in a city.

Safety

Thieves and robberies are unlikely to happen especially when you live in the countryside of Austria.

3. Singapore

Singapore by nite by the Author

I have been living about 70 percent of most of my adulthood in Singapore. Having to work here with many of my closest friends and family allows me to stay in the country.

Pros and Cons

Singapore is the best place to make money. There is so much work to do and is very easy to make business with.

Living in Singapore if you are still working is good. You can really make a lot of money to save for the future but not for retirement.

Singapore is a city that has everything you need from advanced medical care and access to good food and entertainment.

Man-made natures are here from beaches, man-made lakes, water reservoirs, nature parks, and sanctuaries.

Everything is here and when I said everything, I really mean it.

When you think of retiring in Singapore, most likely, you must have a lot of money to be able to keep your standard of living.

From housing, medical care and food are very costly. Though we will be getting monthly support from the Government due to our CPF (Contribution Provident Fund), we will be on a very tight budget. Unless you are super rich and not to worry about living here.

Safety

In Singapore, safety is a Government priority. Even you are alone going home drunk after midnight, the taxi driver will even bring you up to your apartment.

Things are maybe expensive living in Singapore but when we talk about safety, this top-notch compare to any countries I mentioned.

4. Malaysia

Penang Malaysia by the Author

Here comes Malaysia. Let me introduce you to Johor Bahru or in short JB.

JB is just a 45-minute drive border of Singapore. Yes, that’s right. 5 years ago, my husband and I bought a landed property.

Pros and Cons

You must be hearing a lot of bad news about Johor Bahru — JB that it is the most dangerous town in Malaysia. Robbery on the street even in a broad daylight can happen.

That depends on where you lived. Yes, the city center of JB is the most dangerous area where robberies happen at any time of the day and night.

Johor Bahru is huge. Composing of many cities and different States. Some States are very laid-back and very countryside.

In our case, we bought a landed property that looks like a resort. For a 300 square meter property with a ready-to-live unit, it cost us about $350,000.00 Singapore dollars at the time of purchase 5 years ago. Equivalent to the cost of the high-end cars in Singapore.

Well guarded 24/7. Has full facilities such as a swimming pool, gym, own golf course and huge park to walk around.

Accessible to decent local food and international groceries. Affordable local products are abundant too such as poultry and seafood.

Johor Bahru is very much following the culture of Singapore as many called it JB is an extension of Singapore.

Maybe not so advance in medical equipment compare to Singapore but since we are so close to Singapore, we can just drive back in case we need medical care.

Living in Malaysia Johor Bahru can both have access to fun activities. By plane or by car.

There is a local airport that conducts flights every day. Domestic flights give you access to another island. The international flights are accessible as well.

Safety

Safety-wise, Malaysia can be an issue. Choose a location that is the well-guarded community to which there are such places.

To Conclude

In the Philippines, due to calamity and discrimination, I am hesitant about retiring here.

Austria, a beautiful country, has 4 seasons in a year, but I do not like the cold weather for 4 months.

Singapore, yes my second option for retirement but just too expensive for us. I may have to work still even I am 60 to 80 years old. Surely not the life I want.

Malaysia is my choice for retirement

Not only I can have access to Singapore in just 45 minutes by car, but I can also drive to the next country which is Thailand.

Malaysia is huge. Living to retired here is good in a way that things are very much affordable. If you have a monthly retirement fund for example a $1000 Singapore Dollars, that money can be RM 3,000 Malaysian currency.

And if you only use this money fully on living needs like food, water, electricity, and internet bills plus facility maintenance, you live comfortably.

I do not feel any discrimination in Malaysia, unlike the Philippines.

The only issue I see in retiring into Malaysia is the sudden changes of laws to foreigners like me. At this time of writing, due to coronavirus, Malaysia has been close to foreigners even you have properties such as your home and cars. You are not allowed to enter.

Thank you for reading.

My name is Elvie. I am sharing stories about travel, photography, food, and life experiences. Thank you for connecting and I hope you enjoy my articles as I enjoy yours.

asia
1

About the Creator

Elvie Lins

Hi, I am a professional Photographer and self taught Digital Artist. I write about Travel, photography and life experiences articles or blog. You may like to check me at Opensea https://opensea.io/Elvie-Lins

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.