Wander logo

How much should we spend on a vacation?

Vacation, vacation, how much we are waiting for you!

By Sebastian VoicePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
How much should we spend on a vacation?
Photo by S'well on Unsplash

However, today I want to talk about an excess that I noticed especially in people with above-average incomes: holidays. I hope I didn't swear too much after this article

Many spend a lot of money on holidays and vacations. Much more money than education, physical and mental health (eg psychologist), or investment.

Holiday budget

Someone once asked me if there were any rules regarding the budget to allocate for the holidays.

I don't know any standard rules but, intuitively, I formulated and followed a rule that I have been following for about 5 years: Spend on vacations enough to allow me to stay on that month (when I go on vacation).

When I was a corporate member, I spent as much as at the end of the month, after receiving my salary (rest leave + what I was working on that month) + what other passive income I had, to reach zero or a little extra.

Of course, since I no longer work in a corporation, things are a little more complicated 🙂 So, as a rule, = to come back from vacation a little richer than I left 🙂 due to investments and passive income.

This saved me many years of excess in this area of ​​vacation until I even allowed myself to go on more expensive vacations.

My last 3 summers

In the summer of 2019, I had just resigned from the corporation, so I didn't take my vacation.

Both in 2020 and 2021 I took about 2 months off in the summer (July and August) - so, as revenge for my years as a corporate member, but especially to enjoy the feeling of “endless perfect summer days ”. Okay, for the rest of the year, I put in 12-14 hours of work, 6 days a week :)))

In 2019 - in the summer, I was right after resigning from the corporation, with a modest passive income, which covered only my bare necessities, with a business at the start-up stage, and scared of what was to come.

I spent the summer working and only made a few visits to other cities (also for professional purposes) when I visited a few friends. So very little vacation, a lot of work, and a lot of pressure on me.

However, I have very fond memories of that summer, from the short periods when I visited 2 friends: Daniel and Razvan (they recognize themselves). They were my oases of relaxation and tranquility during that time.

In 2020 - most of the departures (and there were many small ones) were with his tent at low-cost mountain boarding houses + a relatively modest holiday in Greece - maximum satisfaction and covered the costs from the passive income of the 2 months + some income from the Science Business project (quite modest, since I hadn't automated anything and without me, nothing moves).

In 2021 - also 2 months off, with a few fewer departures, but more expensive - the same satisfaction as in 2020, although I changed the tent and modest pensions on 4 and 5-star hotels - I exaggerated a little with the expenses, but for now What went well was the stock market, I still got a small increase over the two months.

Every summer had its charm and the satisfaction of the holidays was given by my mood and my context from that moment and NOT by the amount of money spent.

The summer of 2019 was the summer of rediscovery;

The summer of 2020 was the summer of freedom and the bohemian spirit;

The summer of 2021 was the summer of family and comfort.

What were the constants of the three years, however

As different were the summers of 2019, 2020, and 2021, so "the same" was my actions and habits.

I will mention only the good ones 🙂 to inspire you too (of the bad ones I don't want to give you any ideas):

  • I did weekly therapy with a psychologist - I consider my mind to be the strongest asset I have and I must take care of it.
  • I constantly invested in the stock market - more money or less money, depending on income - it was important for me to always invest at least 100 RON per month, no matter how small my income was.
  • I learned continuously - both by attending paid courses and reading books, specialized articles, or mentors. My areas of interest were (and still are): financial education, psychology, and spirituality. Who says that investing in courses and books does not bring results, means that they do not participate in what is needed and do not read what is needed.
  • I worked hard - even when I was poor, and now when I'm gone.
  • I surrounded myself with competent and balanced people - I freed up my entourage a lot and created a new one. Not deliberately, but simply by not resonating with some people and starting to resonate with others.

Conclusion

Of course, I could have done more for my health, balance, and progress, and maybe you did more.

Of course, maybe my vacation is not ideal for you.

But what I want to point out here is that excesses of any kind only cover some inner voids, whether we are talking about dissatisfaction, whether we are talking about anxiety, meaninglessness, etc.

Invest first in your inner balance, your mental and mental health, and your financial future. The satisfaction of life comes from the fruits of these investments, not from the exotic places where you go on vacation. You will also go to those places, but with the "investments" well made (in the inner balance, education, and assets) you will enjoy the holidays and you will take that joy with you when you return home.

See you soon!

P.S. If you like to read while drinking coffee, you can offer me a coffee too.

travel tips
1

About the Creator

Sebastian Voice

Hi

Writing is an art, the art of being known without being seen.

Writing hides a face, a feeling, a thought, a desire, a mystery.

I'm a dreamer!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.