Wander logo

How I Have A Luxurious Life On $600 A Month – And You Can Too

My best kept secret.

By rtisPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2
How I Have A Luxurious Life On $600 A Month – And You Can Too
Photo by Nad Hemnani on Unsplash

I'm about to turn 28 and my life is going very well.

I work as a Content Manager / Freelance Writer for a couple of companies, earning enough to survive. The interesting thing is that I am not content with "surviving", and so I am proud to say that I found a way to have an upper-class life spending only $600 per month.

This means that I can go to expensive restaurants whenever I want, travel at any time of the year and choose when I want to work.

How do I get to cover all this with $600 considering I was born in a dollarized country? Simple:

I woke up one day and thought about how great it would be to make money in a highly valued currency, but to be able to spend in a devalued currency.

So, I moved to another country. Specifically, to Colombia. I have lived here for 3 years and that has helped me build a stable career doing what I love without having to dwell under a bridge.

But wait, this isn't another one of those articles on being a digital nomad. You can be one if you want, but that's not precisely my style.

I prefer to live in the same place for a season, trying new things in the surroundings, but making the most of it. I have moved at least 4 times inside Colombia, and only now, after three years, I feel ready to go and explore something new.

This is not just a philosophy of life from the realm of personal growth, it is also financially smarter than moving to a different country every 3 months, as some nomads do.

In fact, if you are starting to live on your own, and following your passion, I recommend that you consider settling in one place for at least a year.

The fastest way is to apply for a student visa in the destination country of your choice, but I recommend that you do not do so until you have arrived at the place. There will always be the possibility of running into something completely different from the brochure, and it is better to have the opportunity to repent and find another city or neighborhood.

What if moving to another country scares me?

Surely, Alexander the Great was also afraid of invading some places and meeting better armies than his own. He must have been afraid of dying, so guess what ...

It's not about not being afraid, but doing things despite fear.

When I was at the airport about to take my flight to Colombia, my stomach ached, and I wanted to go to the bathroom, but the feeling began to disappear when I decided that I was not going to let that paralyze me.

Have you heard the phrase "you'll never be as young as today"? Well, it doesn't matter how old you are, it's true.

You're reading this for a reason, and even though I don't know you, I'm sure you have what it takes to build the life you want. Just put the excuses aside and make decisions.

I assure you that no decision worthwhile will be easy. On the contrary, the easy thing is to feel like a victim of circumstances and resign yourself to a life of bitterness.

Yes, your family can go with you

If you are married or have children, of course you will have to discuss all this with someone else. Now here's the good news:

If you choose well, you and your family can have a much higher quality of life in the medium or long term. That's better than feeling "safe" in a place you know in the short term, but constantly worrying about the future, right?

Let's be frank: it is not easy at all to have a good life in some countries, or to make money from what you love. So, what are you going to do? Will you give up your dream and settle for a 10-hour job or two part-time jobs, living a life you don't like, and complaining of aches every day as you age?

A couple with children can have a dignified and peaceful life in a Latin American or East Asian country for 1/3 of what it costs to live in the United States or Europe. Actually, my $600 a month budget is enough for two people.

These are some destinations you can consider (I'm marking my favorites, in terms of price / quality of life):

  • Argentina
  • Colombia** (Medellin and Pereira are excellent options if you want to live in a city that does not drive you crazy)
  • Chile (look away from Santiago. Some choices are Pucon, Valparaiso, Concepcion, Villarrica, La Serena, Antofagasta)
  • Mexico
  • Peru
  • Ecuador
  • Brazil
  • Vietnam**
  • Malaysia**
  • Indonesia**

If you wonder how much it takes to live in some of these countries, here's a chart for your reference:

Minimum monthly wage in selected Latin American countries in 2021 (in U.S. dollars)

Source: Statista, 2021

Now, you will need to do some extra research if you are traveling with children, just to know the requirements to enroll your children in school. Anyway, you will end up paying less than in U.S.A., and yes, there are good schools in what we call "Third World countries".

By the way, I recommend you not to use the term "Third World country" as an offense. The last guy to do it turned out to be a fiasco.

On the other hand, if only you and your partner are there, things are much simpler. You can both apply for a student visa and start your 1-year personal growth project.

If you already generate income online in dollars or another highly valued currency, even better! There is no reason to believe that things will not work out. But, if you are just starting to work online or make money doing what you love, then I recommend saving at least $2,500 per person if you go to a place like Colombia (this does not include the flight or insurance).

I had $2,000 in my savings account when I came in and, with good management, it was enough to live 6 months. Since the cost of living has gone up a bit, I think a $2,500 fund could last 4 months if you manage it well.

Resources that may be useful to you

Finally, I want to leave you a list of websites that can help you plan your journey.

  • NomadList – Here you can compare the best places to live for a digital nomad.
  • Numbeo – Here you can compare the cost of living in hundreds of cities (not always 100% accurate, but it helps to get a general idea).
  • Kiwi – You can find cheap flights here, and there's also a search method called Nomad where you can choose different cities to visit and save a lot! This would be useful if you decide to travel across East Asia.
  • Safety Wing – Insurance for you and your loved ones from $40 / 4 weeks.

As for rent, I recommend you book an Airbnb for at least the first month and explore the city when you arrive. You will always find better deals when you have landed, and thus save money to spend on more important things.

---

Thanks for reading! If you liked this article, consider leaving a tip. It is a great way to motivate me to continue sharing my life experience (also, I love coffee).

how to
2

About the Creator

rtis

I write to put my pieces together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.