Wander logo

Ha​sta La Vista, Baby!

Good bye! Au revoir! Addio! להתראות!

By Alex KemsleyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I got in my car this morning and it was 37 degrees Fahrenheit. I had my fuzzy pajama pants on, a hat, three jackets, some gloves, and a scarf on and I still managed to freeze on my way to and from my car. Do you know how disappointing it is for it to almost be March in Texas and not be a minimum of 60 degrees? It's almost as disappointing as the results of the election last year, but that's politics and I won't get into that. So now, as I sit here under multiple blankets writing this article, I am reminded that in a few, short weeks I will be flying "over the pond" to Europe! Where the weather may not be... significantly warmer, but it will be warmer than 37 degrees hopefully!

Thus, the title of this article, hasta la vista, baby! In 33 days, according to the doodle calendar I made out of post-it notes, my 66 classmates and I will embark on a 10-hour flight to the great city of London, England. This is a yearly trip for my school, as the curriculum we learn from is centered around ancient European/Western culture. First off I would just like to give an advisory warning that I am an organized perfectionist who has planned every detail of this trip, down to the minute. Disregarding the strict schedule that I have compiled with my travel group, I am so excited that I will be able to travel abroad and see the world, especially seeing a different kind of fashion.

Having grown up in America, I am used to wearing pajamas to breakfast, even in hotels, it's normal, it's comfortable, and there is nothing wrong with it. But in Europe apparently, it is considered ~scandalous~ to wear pajamas out of your hotel room. Now I am not European so if the accuracy of any of these statements is wrong, correct me and I will not be offended, however just based off the previous example I am sure my trip is going to be a whirlwind of fun, adventure, and discovery. Not only in London but also the many other cities we are visiting as well.

After London we will be in Paris for a few days, then Florence, then Rome, and lastly Jerusalem before heading home to the states, and boy do I have a lot of things planned. We have dinner on the HMS Belfast in London, a river cruise on the Seine (hopefully it's not still flooded when we arrive), visiting the San Lorenzo leather market, getting baguettes and eating them for lunch (carb load anyone?), going to the Vatican, and lastly seeing where Jesus was supposedly buried. To think, all I just listed is just the tip of the iceburg, I wonder if I'll be able to survive the whole trip.

Paired with my amazing group, my chaperones, and paired with a guy group to ensure our safety, I'm sure my friendships will definitely survive or even be strengthened by this trip, even if I don't survive. I'm excited to see the Duomo in all its glory and kiss my boyfriend on the Eiffel tower. I'm excited to watch the night sky drape over the Jerusalem skyline at dinner and eat gelato to my heart's content. Until then, however, it looks like I'll be stuck here, in cold, rainy, windy, terribly dreadful, and honestly awful, Texas for a few more weeks. But as soon as I get that plane ticket with my passport in one hand and my suitcase in the other, it's hasta la vista, baby!

europe
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.