Wander logo

Going to and fro

But where to next?

By the nomadic trioPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

As we all know, I’m nomadic-ish. For those who don’t, I live in my ‘78 RV full time with my two cats. What can I say? I like changing up my views. A lot. And I get to enjoy the freedom to do so without having to be tied down to any singular place and then planning vacation time or having to worry about whether that time will be approved by employers, etc. Recap over. Moving on.

Recently, I was in New England. Salem, MA to be specific, over this last summer. See the black building with the purple lights? It’s only the oldest witch shop along the East Coast. Definitely the oldest in Salem. I had the wonderful opportunity to work there and during October, it was absolutely a blast. Three quarters of a million people gathered in witch city during the month for pyschic readings, different tours and to buy little novelties or supplies they needed for their own personal practices. But while I was there, I found my “place.” Somewhere that I can go back to and legitimately call home. Found friends that have turned into family and have learned so much about my own personal self that I already have plans of returning.

Not only do I get ocean views within a 5 minute walk, but I still get to expierence the ever so changing of the four seasons. If you know me, then you know that both the ocean and changing seasons is something that I will forever and always want to keep in my life. Except snow and below freezing temps. Those guys can rot in hell as far as I’m concerned. Thank the Gods to be that I’m at least smart enough to know how to stay warm either way.

As the photo shows, that’s a lot of snow. Five feet in some areas and eight feet where the snow has drifted over in large piles. No thank you. I came back to Missouri to visit family for the holidays and figured it would be safer to wait until the beginning of March before I started to head back. That is not a mess I’m willing to dive into right now. At least, not this year. I have a job that can wait and a boss who’d rather me be safe rather than sorry. Same with those handful of people I’m lucky enough to call friends.

As I type all of this out, I get to think back and reflect on my time there. I cannot wait to get back. I’m excited about everything that I’ve learned there between gaining knowledge to my personal practices, about how America and the colonies started there and the ever infamous witch trials. All of which, one can learn about anywhere, but there is definitely a difference when you can actually visit those very same places in person. Between the memorials, the original witch house and its part in the trials or even meeting descendants of the accused and executed. I’m glad I got to go and that I get to go back.

Given the nomadic-ish lifestyle that I have, I would never have had the chance or opportunity to go. I mean, I guess I could rent an apartment or bedroom there. But have you seen the sheer numbers one would have to pay monthly? No thank you. I would rather shoot my own face off instead! The east coast is stupid expensive. I would rather be able to make money and live within my means. Which, in this case, would be in the RV. And I get to keep that gypsy at heart part of me alive. I’ll always have the ability to go south during the winter if I so desired. Or somewhere along the west coast. Haven’t figured that part out just yet.

solo travel
Like

About the Creator

the nomadic trio

Just a nomad with two cats who refuses to live with most of societies rules. And who doesn’t like to occasionally change up their views with rent free living?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.