Wander logo

Getaway

My thoughts

By jewel arisesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Its time to go.

o When I went to the beach that day I felt some since of peace. Just hearing the sound of the waves crashing into each other over and over. Feeling the sun beam down on my skin. The cool ocean breeze that I felt over my skin. It was relaxing and rejuvenating. Knowing that this moment wouldn't last long was the last thing I wanted to think about. You could call it a getaway. That's what it felt like, a day trip with Me, Myself, and I. The beach was calming feeling the sand under my feet and between my toes was soothing enough. I stretched out a towel I brought with me and played down, using the backpack I brought as a cushion for my head. And so I layed there and gently closed my eyes, I inhaled and excelled deeply, in an attempt to relax and not think about anything. Calm my mind down. As I layed there my mind would start to wonder. Why couldn’t It be like this all the time I wish I didn’t have to leave. 1 day wouldn’t be enough, I would need a week on a beautiful beach or island away from any and everyone. I want to truly feel free, but as I take myself back to reality I realize I’m not where I want to be but I know what I must do. The true freedom that I want is within arms reach. This Getaway brought a lot of thoughts and at the same time it didn’t. With everything on my mind it was as if Those thoughts would disappear for a little while and all I have to think about is enjoying this moment on this beautiful day. Mind you it was December but that particular day felt like the spring. What I enjoyed the most was walking up to the water and watching it run over my feet. Just feeling the cold rush of water over my feet was amazing to me. Seeing the birds fly over was a good sight along with a beautiful clear sky. But I will be honest the birds did startle me at first. As I lied down and closed my eyes I could almost feel them flying right over me making there bird sounds. If you have seen this old school movie called “The Birds" then you know why I be a little paranoid. But as I digress the birds weren’t worried about me, they were too busy fighting over whatever food they found in the sand. It’s funny, anyone who was around the beach that day could see I was frightened. Oh well I thought. Let’s just get back to relaxing and calming your mind, besides…….. It’s a beautiful day I told my self. It wasn’t too hot or too cold but just right. All the sounds other then an occasional bird yelling, I know some would say chirping but my ears heard yelling in bird language. Ok let’s move on, back to the beach and the Sun oh yes the sun, the sun was a beautiful sight, I could feel its warmth beaming down on me. Its amazing to me how hot the sun is even from 93,000,000 millions miles away its warmth and light benefits us everyday. I know that seemed random but I get these thoughts that just pop into my head every day. But nevertheless it was a beautiful sight and as it got later, you could see the beautiful Sun set. The colors where amazing, seeing the mixture of orange and red along with a purplish tint, the sky its self could have been a painting. It was beautiful. I smiled at the sight of it. This getaway even though it was for only a day felt amazing, and I hope do it again on another beautiful day.

solo travel
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.