Wander logo

Freckles Abroad

Aesthetic and Halloween

By Gabrielle LamontagnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Freckles Abroad Logo

Walking home from the campus library late this afternoon, a sense of euphoria came over me and took over an hour to dissipate.

The skies were partially overcast, gray with a setting sun hidden far away to the West, as I gazed East. The tiled stone walkways were wet from an earlier rain. As I walked a lane beneath intermittent young trees and street lamps, I felt cozy in my thick sweater and red vest, my two hands curled lovingly around my warm hot chocolate cup. The air smelled musty of damp leaves already fallen and partially trodden under my clip-clonking boots.

The hot chocolate tasted good, warming my lips and stomach and hands. The scalding heat of it on the tip of my tongue made up for the somewhat watery quality. The familiarity of it tugged the corners of my lips upwards.

No picture of the scene could do justice to how it melted my heart, but I've included a few here for your entertainment. I felt at once cozy at home and alight with enjoyment of an entirely new locale. Part world-traveler and tourist, part stylishly dressed girl-next-door.

Crimson Leaves

"I Love A Rainy Night" by Eddie Rabbitt played through my mind as I strolled.

I twirled in place, eyes wide open to take in every sight. I took another whiff of the air carrying its distinctly Autumn aroma. As I wandered up a small set of steps, I paused to kick up the crimson leaves heaped there. I studied their vibrant color and how they clung to my boot tip.

A post-rainy afternoon

I paused to run my fingers along the course red brick, weathered by time and rain and graffiti. I swept my digits along the wet, smooth, stained wood of a bench made to fit with a metal “picnic” table. I enjoyed the open spaciousness of the walled-in outdoor dining area. I ran my hand along the rough cement wall leading to the chickens' pen. I smiled at the garden flowers and admired the jangle and thunk of my boots on the brick path.

I enjoyed the sense of safety I felt in returning to Old Court.

I'm loving my courses. I've now read Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf and The Reluctant Fundamentalist in full, as well as many short stories, poems, and a variety of novel excerpts. One of my favorite extracts has been from Cambodia where the author compares the colonization of that country to violent demonstrations and events in America, all taking place during the 1970s. A few weeks ago, in which class I can't recall, we had such an intense and enthralling discussion about the text and the current world around us, that some of us created a Zoom meeting to continue the discussion well after the class had ended (as the tutor had to depart). That was fantastic!

Last night, Halloween, my flat mates Natalia and Jessica threw a party in our common kitchen. Natalia brought Polish apples, candy, vodka, wine, and orange juice. There was also a red velvet cake and, later on, a polish kind of bread stuffed with cheese. She also set up her laptop. I was the first one other than her to arrive, so she and I took turns choosing "Halloween" themed music to dance and drink to. I'd also brought a bottle of cider, but I was the only one who drank it. Chung came down for a bit, bringing brownies. The party really picked up when Jessica arrived with more wine and solo cups. Sarah and Paul also joined our party and Jessica taught us how to play some American drinking games (though we mostly used water instead of the wine). It was a fun night!

culture
Like

About the Creator

Gabrielle Lamontagne

As a travel-sized, karaoke fiend and Christian witch, I hope you find my spiritual insights and travel experiences useful, amusing, and compassionately written!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.