Wander logo

Flint, Michigan

My Hometown

By Shante HernandezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Home!

When I think of home, I think of where my family, friends, and roots are. And home to me is Flint, Michigan. What can I say about Flint? It is where I was born, where most of my family are, and where I have memories. I remember all the places I would go to with my cousins, aunts, uncles, and grandparents. I lived with my grandma for six or seven years, then I moved to Texas for a better life. But there are things that I miss about Flint. I miss the fun parks, visiting my family, and most definitely the places to eat there. For example, Angelo's Coney Island had the best coney dogs in the world. Especially when you wash them down with some pop (soda). Halo Burger, when I say they have some of the most delicious juicy burgers, MAN!! It gave me heartburn, but it was so worth it at the end. And last but not least, WHITE CASTLE!!! Those tiny burgers are the bomb. I can eat eight of them and still be hungry.

There are also some fun places to go in Flint. The parks, museums, and the beach. I think Flint only has one beach that I remember. Bluebell Beach was amazing! All the sand that you could use to make a mansion castle. My favorite park and museum are Memorial Park and Flint Children's Museum. Memorial Park is a VERY big park. The swings, slides, and the monkey bars were the best. Flint Children's Museum is mostly for kids, but I enjoy it as an adult too. All the things you can learn there at the museum.

There are so many things in Flint that are fun. And there are also bad things in Flint. There is lots of violence and gang problems there. I have been around violence since I was 6 or 7-years-old. It's definitely not my favorite part of my hometown. But the most precious thing I miss about Flint is my family. We love to get together to laugh and talk about life. But we always come together for a nice home cooked meal at my great aunt's house. My family means everything to me, especially my grandmother. She passed away when I was 8-years-old. We were always together in the kitchen and garden. My grandmother always spoiled me to death. She would take me wherever I wanted to go. She would take me to McDonald's, Taco Bell, and to the corner store for a soda and a BIG bag of Doritos. I miss her so much. Even though she is not here, she will always be in my heart.

I would love to go home one day. But with my husband and I working and our kids being really little, we will have to wait. Also, I don't want to take my children up there with everything that is going on up there. Flint is my home. It hurts to see my hometown go through these things right now. But I would love to thank one of my biggest idols, Bruno Mars, for donating money to my hometown to help fix things up there. It means the world to me that he took his time to help Flint. The thing I love about Bruno Mars is his compassion and charm. He may be busy, but he always takes time out for his fans and his country. That is the kind of man he is. Thank you Bruno Mars! Even though things are rough and hard in Flint, they always make it through. The violence, killings, and water crisis are very horrible. But Flint, Michigan will be my home away from Texas. Stay strong Flint!

culture
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.