Wander logo

First Morning in Reykjavík

A Nice Walk Around the Harbour

By Chloe GilholyPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1
A Shot I Took This Morning

I didn’t think I’d get much done or see a lot, but I did. I had a comfortable night in my pod at Galaxy. I woke up at six, but I didn’t get out of bed until nine. After my shower, strawberries, and porridge for breakfast, I walked around the area. I wasn’t looking for anything in particular, I was hoping today that I would have a look around the area to get my bearings.

My friend I was hoping to see is free Thursday and Friday, so I’ll see her on those two days. The fresh air is very apparent in this country, and my face feels cold—even though it’s been sunny. I’m surprised that there’s quite a few Dominos Pizza chains about; there’s one near my hostel next to the supermarket.

I took pictures of the rocky beaches, some statues, and some streets. Really love some of the architecture in Nordic countries. I visited a few art museums and HARPA. One of the highlights for me was this lovely coffee shop that I found on Pink Iceland’s website.

When taking a shower, I notice the water smells strange at first, but it soon fades. I think it might be what’s in the water that makes it smell. The Icelandic water tastes fresher. There are no ends of bottles of water for sale, but it feels like a tourist trap. I’ve spotted lots of water taps where people are free to drink and fill their bottles. The cafe I’m in right now also has water free to have, along with orange-infused water.

Kaffitar

In my last blog entry, I wrote about how Iceland was cold, expensive, and cosy. I still stand by this, but I am trying to be careful with my money. Instead of splashing out on gifts and crap I don’t need, I’m going to only spend it on essentials like food and excursions. By walking wherever I can, I’ve already saved a fair bit. I also realised that I didn’t need as much Icelandic cash and could have used my card, but anything I don’t use can be saved for my Japanese cruise and for Comic Con in Birmingham.

Inside HARPA

HARPA is a massive building. It’s almost as big as the huge library in Birmingham. There were lots of private events going on, so I didn’t get to see everything. But there is a theatre, some shops, and a travel agents here. The first floor is where I booked my excursion for tomorrow.

Reykjavík Cathedral

I took this picture at about 10 this morning. I loved the look of this building. I didn’t realise until after I took the picture that it was in fact the cathedral. The tourist in me wanted to take pictures of everything I could.

Hello Sobo!

I was asked on Twitter to say hello to a troll. Meet Sobo, who I met at HARPA. Sweet little fellow, never swears and always brushes his teeth.

Chai Latte

This is a very good Chai Latte. You could taste the spices and I liked the foamy feel in my mouth. I think I might order a Swiss Mocha or an espresso next time I’m here. I saw other people get served their drinks in quirky little teacups and it’s given me drink envy.

One of the places I’m going to drop by later. The music playing made me think of my mum as she loves this sort of music.

There’s a swimming pool about a 15-minute walk to where I am now so I might pop in there to get me ready for the blue lagoon.

europe
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.