Wander logo

Finding Myself

Looking for a healing adventure? A cross-country bicycle and walking journey might just be the thing you need.

By Jerry NelsonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

During a tough period of my life, I discovered the significance of acknowledging my past and letting it go in order to concentrate on the present moment and build a brighter future.

Looking for a healing adventure? A cross-country bicycle and walking journey might just be the thing you need.

Divorce is never easy, especially after being married for 31 years. It can leave you feeling lost, confused, and restless. But if you're ready to start fresh and move on, there are plenty of resources available to help you through the process. I hope that by reading this post, you'll find the courage to start your new life and move on from your old one. I knew I needed to do something drastic to help me move on and find myself again. So I decided to ride a bicycle and walk across America.

I started my journey on the West Coast, cycling for miles each day, taking in the beautiful scenery and feeling the wind in my hair. As I cycled across the country, I encountered a variety of challenges, including harsh weather conditions and flat tires. But these challenges only made me stronger and more determined to reach my goal.

Taking a leisurely walk across different parts of the country is not only a great source of exercise but it is also an opportunity to connect with nature at a deeper level. Walking allows us to slow down and take in the sights and sounds of our surroundings. It's a chance to notice the little details that we might otherwise overlook, such as the way the sunlight plays on the leaves, or the sound of a distant bird call. More importantly, walking offers a chance to connect with ourselves and the landscape around us, allowing us to appreciate the beauty and wonder of the world in a way that is often lost in the hustle and bustle of modern life.

Along the way, I met many people who were also on their own journey, whether it was cycling or walking for a cause, or simply exploring the country. We shared stories and experiences, providing support and encouragement to one another.

As I traveled, I found that my physical exertion helped me cope with the emotional pain of my divorce. The rhythm of cycling or walking gave me time to think and process my thoughts, while the beauty of the country around me gave me hope and inspiration.

My journey across America was not just a physical one, but also a spiritual and emotional one. It allowed me to take time for self-reflection and to rediscover who I was outside of my marriage. I learned to let go of the past and focus on the present and future, with a renewed sense of purpose and passion for life.

My journey across America on a bicycle and by foot was an incredibly empowering experience that helped me to heal and move on after a divorce. It was a time of self-discovery, reflection, and growth. If you find yourself in a similar situation, I encourage you to consider embarking on a journey of your own, whether it's cycling, walking, or another form of adventure. It may just be the catalyst you need to find yourself again and embrace the next chapter of your life.

Are you looking for high-quality content that will boost your brand's online presence and drive more traffic to your website? Look no further! As a skilled content writer and strategist, I am here to help you take your content marketing to the next level. Don't settle for mediocre, or ‘AI’ content, that gets lost in the digital noise. Contact me today and let's create content that truly stands out and drives results! [email protected] and Fiverr at https://www.fiverr.com/share/3YPpNx

culturebudget travelamericaactivities
Like

About the Creator

Jerry Nelson

Jerry Nelson is an American writer living the expat life in Argentina and winner of the Revi 2021 Reader Award.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.