Wander logo

Everything, Except a Beach

And on the Sixth day, God created Man(chester)

By AVPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
Manchester (UK)

Manchester sits in the North West of England, UK and has been my home since I arrived for University 7 years ago. Whilst I grew up in the neighbouring county, and was born abroad, Manchester is where I have made my fondest memories and subsequently my darkest too. As a multicultural city, without the London price tag, it is known globally for football (Manchester United and City), music (Oasis, Joy Division, the Bee Gees), science and innovation (Graphene and Alan Turing) and it's own mayor, Andy Burnham, was crowned 'the King of the North' after advocating relentlessly with the British government during the pandemic to assist the more deprived and neglected north of England.

Here is a short visual tour of what personally makes Manchester my hometown:

Rich history

Manchester was the birthplace of the British industrial revolution which is still seen in its architecture of refurbished mills and cotton factories around the city. However, that wasn't Manchester's only key player in the 19th Century.

My favourite part of Manchester's history is that it the city where the British Suffragette movement was born lead by Emmeline Pankhurst. In 2018, Manchester marked the centenary of the first general election in which British women were allowed to vote by unveiling a statue of Pankhurst in St. Peter's Square.

Emmeline Pankhurt statue, St. Peter's Squre

She is only the second statue of a woman in the city, the only other being Queen Victoria. She was a bold political activist that set up the Women's Social and Political Union (WSPU) in the early 1900s, which later became known as the suffragettes. Their struggles and determination are the reason I can vote today, and have greatly influenced the importance of voting as a woman considering this was once something others had to fight for and some cost their lives. In this city, I always feel a part of something bigger than myself.

Northern Quarter

Celebration of Cultures

Manchester is one of the most culturally diverse city for its size in the world. Before Great Britain left the EU, the EU helped forge the city's linguistic and cultural diversity by allowing easy access to other Europeans to live in the city, for a less hectic life and cheaper cost than London. This makes it easy to learn French, Spanish or any other language with the help of cultural organisations and social groups that live here making it always accessible to practice learning a new language.

I relish the fact that at any time of the year, there is always a celebration of other cultures around the city. From Chinese New Year celebrations to one of Europe's largest Christmas markets, I look forward to being able to watch the Lunar New Year parades, having a drink (or few) at Oktoberfest or enjoying authentic jerk chicken and coconut rice at the food and drink festival.

Chinese New Year decorations, St. Anne's Square

The mix of cultures means I am lucky enough to have friends from all over the world, whether it was at University or at my local gym. I believe that growing up in a small bubble of the same people does more harm than good in many communities. Manchester may be a British city, but it is hundreds of cultures that makes it what it is.

Cityscapes

Whilst I would normally be visiting the theatre, going to gigs or have eating at restaurants to look forward to, Manchester hasn't completely died from the pandemic. During the multiple lockdowns, I have been lucky enough to enjoy serene walks and really take in the architecture of this beautiful city.

Oxford Road is the busiest bus route in Europe which makes it incredibly convenient for transport to and from the city centre. However, I often walk to my destinations as Manchester has made me appreciate the art of taking things slow. Without doing so, I may have missed the myriad of activity still bubbling around and of course, some beautiful sunsets.

Sunset on Oxford Road

The pandemic has given me a chance to explore new areas of Manchester I wouldn't normally visit unless I had to. I know many of the streets off the back of my hand but I relinquish in the fact there is always more to discover. However, revisiting familiar places bring me a sense of serenity and calm which is at times, the respite I am looking for.

Sunset at Beetham Tower

A personal favourite spot is Media City in Salford Quays, home to the BBC and ITV studios slightly outside the city centre. Day or night, this region of bustling offices, a theatre I have visited about 15 times (no, really) and quaint canalside walks is a unique section of the city. I have made fond memories here going from a drink with friends, admiring the lights from across the canal to sitting in the studio audience for a game show.

Salford Quays at night

Green Spaces

The importance of green spaces in large cities is often overlooked since they provide limited economic growth compared to apartment blocks or office buildings. Thankfully in Manchester, I can enjoy the bustling city environment but also appreciate calming nature spots during the summer or a cooler winter walk. The calming balance of green and grey gives the city its character and beauty in all four seasons.

Fletcher Moss Park, Didsbury

Most of the green spaces are lesser known to visiters of Manchester, and reside more in the local areas and villages in its surroundings. This provides a homely community feeling make a stroll in the park calming and therapeutic.

Manchester Arena Bombing

Sadly a terrorist attack on a concert at the Manchester Arena in 2017 took 22 lives. This event shook the whole city to its core, but also demonstrated its undeniable resilience in the people and culture of Manchester. I was proud it was my home before this, but the community spirit and the feeling of 'togetherness' in the healing post the traumatic event really showed me this is a city that will never back to down to such acts of violence, and will only bring everyone closer together. The outpouring of poignant memorials around the city are some of my favourites, many including its emblem, the Manchester worker bees. The worker bee represents Mancunians' hard work ethic and that the city is a hive of activity. The manchester bee is a symbol of unity and community.

I'm afraid I lost all my photos from 2017 to show you a picture of the memorials, however this is one showing 22 bees to represent the people that lost their lives in the terriorist attack.

Manchester is so much more than a city to me, it is home.

All original photos by AV

culture
4

About the Creator

AV

A whole lot of thoughts structured into blog posts

Instagram: @_instashika

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.