Wander logo

Enchanted by Positano, Italy

A Trip That Guided Me To Be More Creative

By DaphsamPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
2
Author's Photo of Positano, Italy

I want to take you to Positano, Italy — a destination of unparalleled beauty! This dream-like location beckoned the inner child within me, inspiring a belief in magic and harmony at all times.

A few years ago, I revisited Positano, although it wasn’t my first time. When I was sixteen, I traveled there with my parents for a summer holiday. As a teenager, I didn’t have an appreciation for it. I was traveling with my parents. Boring!

Years later, as a wife and mother, I was able to return to the awe-inspiring coastal town, and what a joy it was. It wasn’t the most accessible place to get to. We flew to Rome, took a train to Naples, and then had a 3-hour car ride along the cliffside beauty. It was long and tiring. Was it worth all the travel days? The complaining of being tired and bored? Absolutely!

One of the most remarkable experiences was our hotel. We got to stay at Le Sirenuse, considered one of the town’s most iconic luxury hotels. Lodging there was a true photographer’s paradise. When we first stepped foot into the lobby of Le Sirenuse, I didn’t know whether to stop and just be or continue to pull out my camera and start snapping!

The photographer in me started snapping. This was one of the first photos I took as my husband and father were checking us into the hotel. I had to be photographing every scenic vision before me.

First photo! Author’s Photo

Le Sirenuse, Author’s Photo

Le Sirenuse was once a private summer home in the 1950s that was transformed into a hotel. Through the years, the historical integrity was kept in place. The elegant arched doorways, with whitewashed walls adorned with antique artwork, were awe-inspiring.

The fresh flowers of jasmine, lemon blossoms, and geraniums perfumed the sea breeze air. The large windows and doorways leading out to the balcony were like a siren’s call, beckoning from the sea gods to come out to the stunning views.

One of the restaurants at Le Sirenuse. Author’s Photo

One of the views of Le Sirenuse. Author’s Photo

The sight of sailboats bobbing in the Mediterranean Sea from the hotel balcony was calming and mesmerizing. The views were not only majestic but a feast for the eyes. As a photographer and artist, I appreciated the contrast of the blues blending into the colorful greens of cliffside villages. Watching the tourists and beachgoers board motorboats for sightseeing, swimming, and a day in the sun was contagious.

I wanted to drop our luggage in our room and run to the beach, waving and saying, “Wait for me!”. I was giddy with excitement for all that Positano had to offer. Even our two children, who were 10 and 15 at the time, could appreciate the beauty of Positano. And the gifts it had to offer.

Author's Photo

Author's Photo

Author's Photo

We spent our days strolling through the winding labyrinth, admiring the town’s artistic charm, with its mix of cobblestone and concrete roads bustling with tourists, Vespas, and local pottery. Every sight was a gift of colorful grace. The salty air carried the scent of lemons and flowers, floating in the warm, humid summer air. It lulled me into a peaceful tranquility for each moment. The need to soak up every bit of Positano’s elixir was strong.

I would feel dizzy trying to take it all in by turning in every direction. With my camera in hand, like an artist with a brush, Positano gave me much to photograph. The charming architecture of whitewashed buildings, cliffside villas, narrow roads, and hidden gardens was magical.

While walking along Spiaggia Grande, the famous beach, we were calmed by the rhythmic sounds of the waves lapping against the shore. The sounds of laughter, music, and the clinking of glasses from beach restaurants gave a sense of life and fun.

Author's Photo

Author's Photo

Intricate mosaic domes adorned the churches, from which melodic bells chimed. The scents of aromatic sweet incense blended with beeswax, lavender, and lemon fragrances embraced all its visitors. There was a sense of belonging to something greater than being a tourist. It was a holy experience of wonder and the happiest feeling of being alive.

The vibrant aqua blues, lemon yellows, and sea greens of the hand-painted ceramics sparked deep creativity. Whether I was a writer, artist, or photographer, the secret allure of Positano beckoned to me like a mesmerizing melody. I had to capture the essence of Positano and do it justice.

The Italian cuisine was so good, it was to die for. I am a big pasta eater, and to have my fill of homemade pasta with the freshest fruits and vegetables was pure heaven. My father and husband dined on the Branzino, Octopus, and Shrimp with the tastiest Risotto they had ever had. To take bites of deep, decadent chocolate cakes and the undeniably rich tiramisu was sinfully delicious.

I used a Topaz Filter to create a painting look. Author’s Photo

Author’s Photo

Author's Photo

As a nature lover, I delighted in the Bougainvillea, known in Positano. The sensual, romantic sight of small purple and pink Bougainvillea climbing the balconies and buildings. The Bougainvillea added an enchanting charm to the Mediterranean architecture.

Upon arriving home, I created a pen and watercolor illustration using one of the photos. It was of a home with the elegant Bougainvillea adorning the whitewashed walls. What a treat for me to spend time using my art abilities to tell a story. The drive in me as an artist grew stronger over that trip. My desire to bring alive my photos of Positano has been a guiding force in improving my watercolor and photo editing.

Pen and watercolor. Author’s Photo

It was a magical trip, one that I will never forget. I highly recommend visiting this charming Italian town on the Mediterranean Sea.

As John Steinbeck once said: “Positano bites deep. It is a dream place that isn’t quite real when you are there and becomes beckoningly real after you have gone.”

Thanks for taking the time to read.

This was original posted on Medium.

travel photographyquotesphotographyfamily traveleuropecultureart
2

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶6 months ago

    Amazing… I want to go there!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.