Wander logo

El Chuco origins

Aye aye

By aysha valenzuelaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Mc kelligan canyon

I was going to write a story about how this whole world was my stomping grounds. Gaia is my home, but would not have enough to keep anyone’s interest in my story, because it’s everyother persons home as well. So to begin the roots of my origin,I come from a big small city nestled in the corner of Texas. When I tell anybody that I am from elpaso tx. I hear “hey I passed through there”, or “oh you mean Mexico”. And they go on about how they can see Mexico from the freeway, and ask if I was scared because the cartel. They seem to know not one thing of my hometown, except that there are a lot of drugs passing through. I can’t argue that one. When I think of my hometown I think of consistency, Chico tacos the place you ate at least once a week and played the jukebox, the star that guided you home from drunken nights in cuidad Juarez ,and the Chuco strangler.

I’ll start with the comfort of consistency and if I’m feeling lost in life I can always count on Elpaso, not to change too much and neither do the people. I go home and it’s as if I just pick up where I left off. If I don’t want to move forward for a little and need to re energize, it’s always a comfort to do so here.

Now Chico’s tacos, that’s a whole unique kind of hole in the wall fast food restaurant. Having tourists saying ew pass, and locals saying nom noms! It’s like local parents feed their babies Chico’s in their bottle. So I find myself running to get me an double order of rolled beef tacos, extra shredded cheese, all soaked in a tomato sauce topped with green spicy chilie sauce every home visit. If anything tastes elpaso Chico’s is it. If I ever went to dine in (pre covid) I would play music on the old juke box. This music machine contained mostly oldies and Mexican music. It did contain somewhat modern music but not a lot. For the kiddos it had some old arcade games. By some I mean 2, no matter if you had a quarter or not, pretending to play is always fun at Chico’s. Around 2 am when I was a teenager this was the spot to eat after the bar. If you have ever thrown up Chico’s after the bar chances are you would lay off for a few weeks.

So another thing that is quite an Elpaso thing is the star on the mountain. This star is a huge star that you can see for miles facing south. You have no idea how many times this has led me home because I was lost, after drink and drown in Juarez. It is placed on a mountain that is the home of Scenic Dr.

Alright the last thing that I wanted to express was the Chuco Strangler. The Chuco Strangler is a screenplay my brother is, and has been working on for years. The screen play consisted of a fictional serial killer that killed people and left bodies in a certain Elpaso famous landmarks, such as Chico’s and Scenic Dr. We have spent many drunk nights explaining scenes. This character would kill his victims with his belt. A little morbid, but We loved horror movie especially had a liking for old b- horror flicks. Is this screenplay really written down? No it’s not. My brother could totally do it he is gifted enough to create such a film. The city I grew up in was not only drinking tacos, being drunk, the mountain compass or even the Chuco strangler. This city is the home to so many artists and gifted people and, I was blessed to meet and see them in action. The city for some reason does not have a lot of resources for these artists to really bloom. I guess that’s the best way I can explain it. Which is why a lot of people move away from the city. Growing up I never liked the city never ever, but as an adult I can appreciate where I grew up because they’re my roots and my roots are awesome. These roots have made me the strong tree that I am today.

humanity
2

About the Creator

aysha valenzuela

Hello I live in the desert hiding in the shade from the beautiful powerful sun in az. I’ve lived all over southwest I dig experiences meeting new peeps and music is life. I am a nomad,I go where the wind takes me I’mhoping it blows me east.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.