Wander logo

Dreaming Of Travelling

Flights And Sights

By Eloise GiesbrechtPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

What are you passionate about? What gets you excited for the future and gives you something to look forward to? My passion is travelling and dining at fancy restaurants.

I grew up doing a lot of travel with my family, so it's something I enjoyed from a very young age. Growing up, we would always drive to where we were going. Both of my parents grew up in Saskatchewan, but work led them to Ontario. Every other summer we would go out west to see my extended family. I enjoyed making memories with my cousins. It was on those trips out went that I fell in love with colourful sunsets. Being in the country, the sunsets are so much more spectacular than when you live in the city. One of my last trips to Saskatchewan my Uncle let me ride on the back of his motorcycle. He timed it perfectly for me to catch a gorgeous sunset. It's like someone had a paintbrush and used it in the sky. We stopped at the side of the road and just took in the exceptional colours stretched out across the sky.

Some other memorable trips growing up were to see Mount Rushmore, The Grand Ole Opry, and Disneyland. I also went on a bus ride around the Indy 500 and got to see some epic race cars.

My first flight ever was a very long one from Alberta to Brazil. I'm thankful that the trip was with a large group of friends who put my mind at ease about flying internationally. I can definitely understand why some people have a phobia of flying.

I miss the excitement and adrenaline rush of flying in an airplane. The above photo was taken a few months before the pandemic when I was travelling to a business conference in Atlanta. Before going on the trip I counted the number of sleeps before my departure for over a month. This was my first international business conference. I remember waking up that morning and literally bouncing out of bed in excitement. To be honest, I didn't get much sleep the night before because I was itching to go.

I had never flown over Niagra Falls before. It was a beautiful day, giving me a sensational view of the falls. From my vantage point, there appeared to be a rainbow of colours. This breathtaking image is etched in my memory forever.

The hotel where I stayed was very glamourous. The Atlanta Marriott Marquios is actually famous for being the backdrop in several movies. These include The Hunger Games: Catching Fire, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay-Part 1, Manhunter, and Spiderman Homecoming. I felt like a celebrity while I stayed. there.

There were forty nine levels of extravagant rooms. The elevator was made out of glass and it was an exhilarating experience to ride in it. My first trip in the elevator was rather nerve racking as I have an intense fear of heights. Going from the lobby to my room on the thirty third floor, I thought my heart might beat right out of my chest. I was sure that my friend standing beside me could hear how loudly my heart was beating. After a couple of rides in the elevator I became more relaxed and then it became a very thrilling experience.

One evening as I had coffee with a friend I happened to gaze out a very large window. I saw the most beautiful sunset with every colour you can think of.

I had the opportunity to go to the Georgia Aquarium and see the Dolphin Celebration. The dolphin show was absolutely stunning! It was also incredible to see the whales, turtles, and other ocean animals in action.

I look forward to going to a business conference in Hawaii in the winter of 2021. I can almost feel the sand in between my toes.

While we're all cooped up inside, let's dream of better days.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Eloise Giesbrecht

I'm a thirty nine year old who is passionate about music, living in the moment, and telling stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.