Wander logo

Covid Vacations

Bye, bye, Disneyland

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Like so many of you, I had so many plans for 2020. The birth of a new decade and a new year made me want to chamge my life for the better and try new things. Many brides never got to make it down the isle. Holidays and events cancelled. So many little things that we used to take for granted, are now more precious than ever. Not being able to go abroad this year, made me see that the UK had a lot of nice places. I always knew there were some good spots, but there are some underrated gems. Because I have this goal to set foot on thirty countries, I’m more interested in places abroad and if I got online friends there, I can meet them and even make new friends. Though I’ve also got amazing friends here too.

In May, I was meant to be going to the Netherlands: I ended up working instead. In June, I was meant to be going on a cruise to Portugal and the Canary Islands; also ended up working. August I had plans to go to Blackpool, and that went through okay, even though it was different with all the restrictions, wearing masks and having our temperatures done.

In September, I was suppose to be going to Disney Land Paris with my friends, but instead we ended up renting a caravan for a week in Cleethorpes. With the rising cases, deaths and restrictions, it wasn’t even worth attempting to go abroad. My passport needed renewing and the uncertainties just meant that planning a holiday abroad became Russian roulette. One moment it’s okay, then the next minute you have to self isolate.

Blackpool and Clethorpes were my only two holidays this year, which compared to 2019 it feels quiet. I visited many countries last year, and sometimes I feel like I haven’t done much in my life. I feel like I’ve done nothing this year, but looking past old photos and posts, I remember all the good times I’ve had travelling and also all the posts I’ve made here, my ten books and hundreds of fan fics I’ve done over the years. The way I talk, makes me sound a lot more upper class than I really am. The reason I like to galavant is because I know if I have children or prices go up, I may never be able to travel again.

Me and my friends were staying at a campsite called Thorpe Park. Not to be mistaken for the theme park near London, but there was a fair a few minutes drive away. They were very concerned about me going on these rides because just a few earlier, I passed out twice at the Redditch fair. I don’t remember much, other than the world spinning and feeling the urge to sleep. I insisted that I went on the rides, and I‘m glad I did. I had so much fun and I wasn’t going to let what happened in the past knock me down. I was also wiser and knew my limit. I learned how to rest imstead of doing everything at once.

I missed swimming and had the urge to swim in the sea. I got too excited, the waves took me and I had a panic attack. Luckily, Patan and Beth were better swimmers than me and were able to take me back to the shore. I was still able to swim in the public swimming pool an hour later.

All of us had a great time at the arcade machines and exchanging our tickets for prizes. I think the best prize I got was a mug with the handle shaped as a consol controller with the words Game Over on it. We all got our lollies. Evenings were spent in the arcades followed with late night drinking games, bingo and truth or dare games where we got to know each other a bit too well. Georgia still hasn’t forgiven me for farting in her face.

I will never forget Beth’s birthday when I gave her a copy my book, Game of Mass Destruction for her birthday and her only complaint was, “why is there no character called Beth?” In one of the books I’m working on at the moment there is a character called Beth, but it’s not really based on her anymore, it is her.

Going through the cities and beaches themselves gave me mixed feelings. The towns, zoos and shops felt quiet whilst the pubs and restaurants where buzzing. A lot of places were closed for good or closed early. Maddy’s good with numbers, so she helped plan everything down to a T. Though with six ladies, getting ready for the day took a while, especially with only one bathroom and everybody with a different body clock. The Monday morning we woke up and heard that no more than groups of six were allowed to gather. We just hit the spot. Looking back we went at the right time. If we tried to do anything now, I’m sure it would have been cancelled.

activities
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.