Wander logo

Bored of the Beach?

Five Summer Vacations Away From the Beach

By Rosalyn Published 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Bored of the Beach?
Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

Are you tired of the summer sun? Are you looking for a summer destination that is different to our beloved beaches? If so, then look no further! In this blog post, we will be discussing summer destinations in Europe for people who are bored of the beach.

One of you might not even be thinking about your summer holiday yet, but it is never too early to start planning.

I very much fall in the category of those who hate the beach; or the idea of sitting on boiling hot sand while attempting to catch a tan. I, being on the pale side, tend to end up looking like a red tomato. You may now understand that the idea of beaches is not something that pleases me.

The first summer destination on the list is Amsterdam. The city has many canals that add to its beauty during the summer months. It also has plenty of activities and attractions to keep you busy. This city is known for several things, the most famous is probably its weed, and if that is something that is up your street be sure to check out the hundreds of cafes offering it around the city, personally that isn't for me. I can't deny it's not something I've never tried.

Another thing Amsterdam is known for that is maybe a bit more cultural is Anne Frank's House. For those who don't know Anne wrote a diary detailing her life as a Jew during world war two. The house itself is on the small size of things, and thus if you travel in the summer you will find this place crowded and hard to get around.

While in Amsterdam be sure to check out the Van Gogh Museum, or maybe take a trip on a boat down the canal, or you wish to visit Amsterdam's Red Light District or take a trip to the Sex Museum or check out the Heineken Experience.

If you are looking for a summer destination with a more historical feel, then look no further than Rome. The city is home to some of the most iconic tourist destinations in the world. Now Rome pretty much makes every one of my lists, and there is a reason for that it has something for everyone. While it is known for its iconic roman roots, you should be sure to check out things like the Colosseum, The Trevi Fountain, and the Vatican City. I would recommend the Capuchin Crypt; while this won't be for everyone, I found it both haunting, and incredibly fascinating.

Barcelona is another great summer destination if you are looking for somewhere to visit with your friends. The city is home to a summer music festival which attracts thousands of people every year. This is another one that turns up on pretty much every list I write. I spent my eighteenth birthday here and it is one of my favourite places I have ever been to. It is the type of city where you will be walking up small little alleys and the next thing you know you turn a corner and you are in a square where live music is happening or street dancers. When I was here I remember going for wonder, and I took a wrong turning and ended up in a built-up residential area; upon three different balconies were three people, playing instruments and singing together. A small crowd had formed below the buildings, and while I could never find that place again, it is something that stays in my mind. Barcelona is full of dreams.

However, places you really should check out are Sagrada Familia architecture, which is some of the most awe-inspiring buildings out there. There are also things like La Boqueria, found on the street La Rambla which is a beautiful and old market, I stayed near here and struggled to live in my hotel without stumbling through this street at some point. There are also several cool shops off the streets, I found a wonderful little indie record shop. Other places such as Picasso Museum, Park Güell, Santa Maria del Mar and Casa Batlló are all worth a trip.

If you are looking for a summer destination that is both historical and modern, then Vienna is the perfect place for you. The city is home to some of the most beautiful architecture in Europe, as well as a thriving nightlife scene. The first time I found myself here I was seventeen on a college trip, I was too young to drink, but somehow talked my way into getting served. Vienna is a beautiful city, with plenty to see. The Schönbrunn Palace, The Hofburg and State Hall of the Austrian National Library are all places you should see. There is something about the buildings in Austria that inspire me. Everything from their museums to churches to schools looks as if they have been taken from a storybook. Also while you are in Vienna you need to check out some of their music venues because while the scene might change from day to day, you will always have fun in a club in Vienna.

And finally, summer in Dublin, Ireland is a magical experience. Seeing the country's green landscapes during summer can't be beaten! Plus, there are plenty of activities to keep you occupied all day long. Now, this isn't really about Dublin but more about Ireland itself because as someone who has friends living in Dublin, I feel like it is a little disappointed unless you plan everything down to the tea. Ireland is beautiful, and in and around Dublin does have some things that you should check out.

One would be EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, which might sound dull, but the Irish have spread their wings and flown around the world, and this museum manages to capture it all. Other places you can see are James Joyce Centre and Kilmainham Gaol. No trip to Dublin is complete without visiting the Dublin Castle and the Chester Beatty Library.

That brings us to the end of this little post, so to those who hate the beach just like me; I hope I have given you a few ideas for your next summer vacation away from the beach.



activities
1

About the Creator

Rosalyn

A twenty something year old. My favourite things are travelling, photography and drinking cocktails. When not studying or working, you’ll find me exploring new places or dreaming up stories that will never come true.

https://lnk.bio/x7mT

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.