Wander logo

Bali: A Photographic Shoot of an Afternoon Wandering the Streets of Sanur— Part I

Where friendliness, kindness, and positive energy prevail

By Victoria Kjos Published 2 months ago 6 min read
Like
Beautiful morning offerings are placed everywhere, on street corners, in front of homes, and in front of businesses. Photo by Author.

The island of Bali in Indonesia

To my surprise and elation, several readers intrigued by prior stories about Bali have requested more about daily life.

As an unofficial Chamber of Commerce cheerleader, I’m delighted to share snippets of a typical “day in my life” on the Island of the Gods, Bali’s official moniker.

Living in a foreign country is exceedingly different than a three-week holiday. I prefer sharing actual street scenes with real people, often grittier and unvarnished compared to glossy Instagram-worthy or tour-guide brochure fluff.

Linguistics

In reply to one brilliant friend’s inquiry, I use the term life on Bali. Grammarly wants to correct it.

In my mind, however, I reside on the island of Bali in the country of Indonesia in Denpasar in the city of Sanur, which is part of Denpasar, the capital city.

It seems odd to say that one lives in an island.

Travelogues

My stories relate to living among the locals, learning a country’s customs and traditions, and immersing myself in daily existence.

I endeavor not to be the stereotypical Westerner or classic Ugly American, critical or quick to impose my jaundiced, biased judgment.

No doubt, I am not always successful. Nevertheless, I try to remain ever mindful of my “privilege,” the simple fact that I can travel and live halfway round the world.

I rarely socialize with other expats. In whatever country outside my native one where I’ve resided, my closest friends always become residents.

Many foreigners never assimilate in the host country, instead living in comfortable bubbles of fellow compatriates, whether Australian, British, American, French, Ukrainian, or Russian.

They fraternize with their own folk, patronizing restaurants suited to them or that cater to foreigners and drinking at their favorite clubs.

It’s the people

One reality becomes abundantly clear after traveling to enough foreign countries or even to regions within your home country.

There is magnificent scenery and natural beauty everywhere. Whether in a village brushed against the Himalayas or the middle of Arkansas.

Inevitably, it’s the people from whom we glean memories and experience life-affirming or altering moments. Or gain inspiration and education.

As an example, I enjoy a poshly appointed, gloriously serene upscale spa as much as the next person — perhaps more, actually. (A future tour through a few of Bali’s fantastic spas is promised).

But before leaving a treatment, I’ll know where my therapist lives, if she has children, and something about her world I’m visiting.

The ice cream motorbike. Photo by Author.

An afternoon in Sanur

So grab your favorite beverage and settle in for a brief photo tour and commentary with Vagabond Victoria on a typical outing in Sanur, located in southeast Bali.

Upon leaving my hotel, I heard seductive carnival calliope tunes tinkling from an ice cream cart. The iconic tantalizing carts of sugar often roam the streets after school hours. As in every city, the kiddies scamper outside excitedly for an icy treat.

Looking behind my building to the kos complex inhabited by lower-income Indonesians, I noticed a motorcycle but no ice cream cart. Hmmm, puzzling.

None of the poor mamas must’ve had any coins to spare. Soon, the bike departed, driving past me.

That’s when I noticed the “Balinese version” of the iconic ice cream truck.

A small insulated box to stash frozen goodies was attached to his seat. How very clever. Quickly, he could pop off the cooler, whereupon he morphed into a GoJek driver or pizza delivery guy.

I followed the bike out to the street.

The temples

Temples like this are typical in all neighborhoods. Photo by Author.

Every village has three larger main temples honoring the Hindu triumvirate of Brahma, Shiva, and Vishnu. Additionally, peppered everywhere are unique street temples, varying in size and intricacy.

This, an immediate left outside my hotel, is tended by a local fellow in a traditional Balinese costume of sarong and headband.

Incense, flowers, rice, and other offerings — often including cigarettes and Coca-Cola — are cleared away nightly and freshly replenished each morning.

Typical local shop. Photo by Author.

A few steps away is this shop. Such establishments, too, are abundant up and down all streets. It sells basic groceries and other provisions, including bottled water and propane gas.

Private school. Photo by Author.

This shot was a treat. A private school with gates typically closed, classes were letting out with staff and students leaving campus. Hence, I was able to pop in and take this.

Retail

A few mini-market chains exist, including Circle K and Alfamart. Another, Indomaret, is located around the corner.

In addition to the usual array of goods, other services are provided.

I can pay my monthly medical insurance premium, orders from Shopee (similar to Amazon), purchase phone minutes and data, and add funds to my GoJek or Grab accounts for deliveries or rides.

Mini-mart Indomaret. The Apotek next to it is a pharmacy. Photo by Author.

Office needs. Photo by Author.

Few people have printers anymore. For the infrequent times I need something printed, laminated, or copied, I pop in to see Ketut. His rates are incredibly reasonable.

For the longest time, I would pass by, and the business was never open. Perplexed because the sign was always out front, one night, I walked by at 7 p.m., and there he was. He must have a day job, holding the shop open only in the evenings.

A few shops down the way is a motorcycle repair and maintenance shop, of which a plethora exists throughout the island.

Notice the name “Rosa,” which assumedly suggests the same family owns both the copy and motorcycle businesses.

Motorcycle repairs and maintenance shop. Photo by Author.

Pande Putri grocery store. Photo by Author.

Checkout at Pande Putri market. Photo by Author.

Pande Putri, a two-story local supermarket, stocks most items I need — fresh produce, cheese, dairy, eggs, frozen foods, the usual array of less healthy choices, bakery goodies, household supplies, and basic toiletries.

The upstairs floor features children’s wear, toys, kitchen tools, and stationery items.

On Thursdays, all Balinese wear traditional clothing. The lace top worn by the checkout gal is a kebaya.

Kichirou Boutique. Photo by Author.

This boutique primarily sells children’s and adult clothing. Serendipitously, a pair of my beloved Haviana flip-flops broke that day right in front of the store. How lucky was that?

I bought two pairs of replacement sandals for $7.35 USD.

Sustenance

Vegan and gluten-free restaurant and market, Kood. Photo by Author.

Kood, a vegan restaurant, is a ten-minute walk. As is typical for many businesses, the structure is two stories; the upstairs is a small grocery with organic and healthy items.

Inside the dining area of Kood. Photo by Author.

Despite having a limited menu, it is a favorite eatery; the modern design is immaculate, and the staff is delightful. A decent bakery and delicious gelato add to its allure.

Vegan lunch at Kood. Photo by Author.

Street Warung with fresh daily offerings. Photo by Author.

Meal for dinner. Photo by Author.

Stopping on my way home to buy dinner from Ketut, this is a regular haunt.

Food is prepared daily with vegetarian or meat options. Packaged in a paper cone, my rice, veggies, and tempe dishes cost just under $1 USD.

With an outlay of less than $3 for the day’s food, you can understand the lack of appeal for the drudgery of grocery shopping and preparing and cooking meals.

Local Balinese on some official duty. Photo by Author.

These two delightful fellows, garbed in traditional attire, were visiting businesses in their official capacity and happily posed for photos.

Sadly, because my command of Indonesian is non-existent, I couldn’t inquire about their duties.

Laundry nearby. Photo by Author.

My last stop of the day is to pick up my laundry. Two minutes from my abode, sweet women toil seven days a week! One or two toddlers typically lie on the floor or play outside.

All laundry, even towels, wash clothes, and undergarments, is ironed using basic flat irons. The cost? Less than 25 cents per pound.

Conclusion

I hope you’ve enjoyed this afternoon’s jaunt with me. Home now, it’s time for a rest.

This is the bypass side (referred to as across the major Bypass highway) of Sanur, far less touristy and more authentic Bali.

In Part II, I shall take you on the beachside, more touristy, tour of Sanur.

Your time is valuable. Thanks for spending some of it here.

Victoria

asia
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Kjos

I love thinking. I respect thinking. I respect thinkers. Writing, for me, is thinking on paper. I shall think here. My meanderings as a vagabond, seeker, and lifelong student. I'm deeply honored if you choose to read any of those thoughts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Victoria Kjos is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.