Wander logo

All Aboard The Steam Express

The Mayflower

By Tabby LondonPublished about a month ago 3 min read
2
The Mayflower Steam Train

I saw the Mayflower steam train as I passed through Clapham Junction a few weeks ago and looked into it. I love train journeys and have always been fascinated by trains from a bygone era. I found that you can book a trip during the summer. So I booked tickets for a trip to Windsor. It was delightful as no steam trains operate on the U.K. Train Network.

Passing Through

The tickets arrived via post a week before travel, and the excitement set in. The information included was thorough. There was plenty of data on the current pandemic, and logistics for the journey were apparent. I arrived at Victoria with great anticipation, and I wasn't disappointed. The train runs every Tuesday to and from Windsor. The company also offers return sunset trips around Surrey. I opted for the London to Windsor trip.

Step Back in Time

Up Close

We take travel and speed for granted in the 21st Century. We expect to get from A to B as soon as possible. Usually, the train to Windsor and Eaton from Paddington takes less than 40 minutes. On the other hand, the steam train took 1 hour and 40 minutes, with a 20-minute stop in between for fuelling.

The First Class Carriage

Many people had booked tickets, too, but the carriages didn't feel crowded, and the passengers spaced out. There were enough stewards on hand to help on the station concourse, the office of Steam Dreams and a group of guides who would be joining the trip, too.

Travel In Comfort

My trip had three types of carriages: the Standard, First Class and the Pullman Dining carriage. I chose First class, and as I approached our table, I noticed the tablecloth had specks of soot. First Class and particles of dirt on the tablecloth? It added to the ambience.

A staff member informed me that it was from the steam engine! He said he must wash three times daily to remove the soot. Imagine when the train was operating on the leading network, and people were using this for work and leisure. Imagine if you travelled to work and arrived covered in soot! Bearing this in mind, I kept the window shut for most of the duration. I didn't want to turn to Maj's hood covered in soot.

Mayflower Steam Train

Many fans

The Mayflower was built in 1948 by the North British Locomotive Company in Glasgow but was delivered post-nationalisation and acquired 61306 by British Railways.

Mayflower has two cylinders, six driving wheels, a firebox grate area of 30 square feet and can operate at 75mph.

Built for the London & North Eastern Railway, 61306 Mayflower is one of two surviving B1 Class locomotives. The B1 is designed as a mixed-traffic locomotive capable of hauling express passenger trains and freight traffic. As powerful, go-anywhere engines, the B1 worked across most of the U.K. rail network from East Anglia to Scotland (Source: Steam Dreams)

Appreciate Time

I did expect Harry Potter and his crew to pop along momentarily because the carriage I was in had that vibe. Train journeys like these help you take stock of our fast-paced world. I enjoyed having the time to sit and watch the world outside.

However, when we arrived at Windsor and Eaton, we felt relaxed albeit a little tired, especially as it was much slower than our daily travel plans. It was, however, a lovely trip. I enjoyed the old carriages that have retained their charm and are not modernised in the Dining and First Class carriages. Just don't expect modern decor on the old worldly train.

For more information about the tour, head to https://www.steamdreams.co.uk/index.php

Thank you for your attention

Tabby

activities
2

About the Creator

Tabby London

The London I've been discovering is usually off the well-beaten track.I love the nooks and crannies and walking along the streets steeped in centuries worth of history. I'm fond of Zone 1 because that's where it all began centuries ago.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.