Wander logo

A Touch of Magic!

How to Rekindle the Magic Inside Yourself in this Solo Trip!

By J.X. LeivaPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
2
A Touch of Magic!
Photo by Alex Bertha on Unsplash

Dear Juan,

I know you have been through a lot this past year. 2020 has been the official "Karen" of all years we had to endure. With Covid-19 and natural disasters happening all around the world. Not to mention the stress level politics brings over; and of course, your fiancé passing away last year in January. With all this stress and emotions that you kept pent up inside, is not good for you to keep suffering like this.

We, as a family, decided your taking a "business trip" by yourself in order for you rekindle this nice, bright happy boy, that used to always face the world with a smile. We really miss that person, and we hope that person can appreciate what we are doing? We took the liberty to fill out a Itinerary which is attached to this letter.

Sincerely,

Your Whole Family!

*Personal and Busniess information are faked but destinations are real*

I mean they ween't wrong. It's going to be 2 years since my fiancé Maria has passed away. And in a way, I may have closed myself off from my friends and family a bit. Covid, obviously, helped me distancing further from them. I never realized that people noticed my grief. I only assume that people expected me to move on rather quickly to someone else. I guess I owe them an apology for doubting them like that.

Since they took their time to plan this out and pay for this, I guess I'll accept this solo trip. Knowing my family, they picked out each place precisely for a specific reason. Looking through the itinerary, I believe I am going to Mexico. *sigh* I haven't been in Mexico in years. Last time I was in Mexico is was with my fiancé Maria. I was there to 3 years ago to propose to her at the beach when she woke up in the morning. There was a trial of rose petals from the bed, leading up to the beach where I was kneeling with a small box from Mary Kay Jewelers behind my back. It was a moment I will hold dear in my life.

So I guess, this is really happening, starting on June 2nd, of 2021, I will departing from JFK Airport, in Washington D.C. to leave for my first destination in Mexico.

The 1st Stop

The Mayan Pyramids known as Chichen Itza, in Yucatan, Mexico.

By Filip Gielda on Unsplash

What is considered as the "new" seventh wonders of the world, The Pyramid of Kukulcan, or better known as El Castillo, is the main center archaeological focal point in Yucatan. This well constructed pyramid contains a series of terraces along the stairways of all four sides. In late afternoons, while the sun is at a certain angle, it casts shadows in order to give the illusion that serpents are crawling along the pyramid.

The only reason I know about that last fact is because Maria told me about it. In fact about Seven years ago, tolerating the horrible heat, I was traveling with a few friends and decided that I was going to take pictures of El Castillo, when I heard a soft, gentle voice tell me to wait for a few minutes. I looked over I see a beautiful woman, young in her early 20's, with a flower in her beautiful curly hair. She told me to wait for a few moments because I was about to experience 'A Touch of Magic!'

She waved her arm at the pyramid, as if she was casting a spell. Within seconds, the sun was just right from us, which projected shadows to sprout around the staircase of the pyramid. I was in awe. She saw my expression and just smiled. From that moment, forward, I introduced myself and things clicked.

credit to original photographer

As if fate had it meant to be, Maria was also checked in the Hotel Okaan in Yucatan. The prices are fair, considering I'll be there for 2 nights. Hotel Okaan is close to many other landmarks and palaces to visit, so I know I won't be bored.

Maybe this is why my family wants me to visit this place again, maybe to help me say goodbye to a chapter in my life, from where it all began.

The 2nd Stop

Assuming I will be renting a 4x4 vehicle, due to the dirt and unstructured roads, I will be traveling to Mexico City, Mexico.

By Bhargava Marripati on Unsplash

Mexico City is the most beautiful Capitals in America. In fact, Mexico City is where me and Maria visited for our 1 year anniversary. We wanted to experience a different cultural splash and we felt that Mexico City was the place to experience that.

Between the gothic architectural style of old buildings and museums, we experiences many types of tastes when it comes to Mexican traditions. The food in Mexico City, has probably the most hardy and savory meals than any other capital. As soon as you walk out, unto the street, you inhale the aroma or different types of spices that arouses your taste buds and causes your mouth to salivate. A traditional type of food that basically has invaded the capital happens to be tacos.

By Xavier crook on Unsplash

The most common taco that there is happens to be the steak or chicken taco, on a soft, hand-made tortilla, with cilantro, white onion and lime.

Other dishes that we tried, were corn tamales, grilled steak and different types of meats. We also tried some desserts such as, Flan and Pineapple fritters.

Besides the food, we got to experience the different types of festivities around the capital. We danced to "Cumbia", which is a Colombian style of dance, and went shopping around "Super Mercado" which is Spanish for super markets. We encountered games and shows, all over; it seemed as if it was one big party non-stop.

credit to original photographer

Me and Maria spent the 1 year anniversary at the penthouse sweet in Hyatt Regency in Mexico City. This is coincidently the same hotel that my family has signed me up for my solo trip.

This trip is actually started to get me excited. Revisiting old places that represent something special to me makes me believe that what I have been doing is wrong. Allowing to be by myself in these places allow me to gain some sort of closure for myself and reminds me that life moves on, even if you have to say goodbye to old love ones.

The Last Stop

Going back to Yucatan, I am heading to a beach called Playa del Carmen.

credit to original photographer

Crystal clear waters, soft, white sandy beaches, and the quiet sound of gentile breeze, Playa del Carmen is the most beautiful beach I've experienced and actually can't wait to go back to. Almost like a resort beach, this place is right in the center of a fishing town that help bring fresh seafood to it's existing venues and restaurant around the beach.

Just off the shore, there is the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef, which is perfect for scuba diving and that is also protected by the by some Biosphere reserve.

credit to original owner

In the same resort that I will be staying, which is the Mahekal Beach Resort, which was the same place where me and Maria stayed; was the same beach and resort where I ended up proposing to her.

The beautiful resort opens itself so your room in connected to the beach, so your villa is just 100 feet away from the water. With coconut trees around the villas, and the soft white sand everywhere it was heaven on earth. Playa del Carmen is far away from the major tourist attractions, so you get a sense of serenity and peace when you experience the resorts and beaches there.

When I do return there, because I want to, I want to take my time and to reflect on my future goals for me, my family, my friends, my love life. And best of all, when I get there, I will have my final goodbye to Maria, and let her know that I will move on and for her and myself, I will regain my happiness again.

The Reflection

Overall, I wasn't sure what to expect at first but now I feel very excited for this trip. I will admit, I was wrong to distance myself from my loved ones. It's hard to get over someone you love so dearly and acknowledge that they passed away. I know I am completely different person now, for the worse. Ever since my beloved passed away, I hardly every smile. Everyone has different ways to grief and handle tough situations; mine was to shut everyone out, and obviously that's bad. When someone is dealing a difficult situation, sometimes it's best to take time for you and work on yourself. I guess that's what my family and friends all been trying to tell me.

Well, I am excited for this trip now. We're still a few months away but I am already packing my bags for it. For Maria, I will continue to be happy again, I will do it for you and for me as well. Hopefully when the world, starts healing, I will to. And who knows, I might meet my true love of the live there like I did with Maria.

humanity
2

About the Creator

J.X. Leiva

Hey Y'all. My name is Jason, is your reading this, your probably wondering what I have to offer. WELP! Let me just tell yah that my life comes with funny situations that offer life lessons and advice I can dispose of. Like a sh*tty sitcom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.