Wander logo

3 Worthy Sights For A Philly Day Trip

Here's Why Philadelphia IS The City of Brotherly Love...

By Mrz. PGPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo Credit: Delia Pena-Gay

I’m figuring it out just like everyone else is...

At 35, I made one of the biggest decisions of my life, I moved out of NYC in search of something else. I decided to start over!

Leaving a cultural mecca, amazing food, and endless opportunities, was tough but it's not life if you are not living it, right? It was the chance to step back and do things differently; un-learn old ideas to re-learn new ones. Even living a life that friends and family don’t understand yet.

A recent day trip to the city of “Brotherly Love” left an impression that I will remember forever.

Keep reading to find out which three Philly locations had the greatest impact on me. I promise it's worth visiting!

Location, Location, Location

Octavious Catto

Center Square, PA

I have a confession to make. I didn’t know who Octavious Catto was before my day trip.

Seeing his 12-foot statue on the south side of City hall commonly known as Center Square caught my eye immediately. I was in awe and I was curious!

I hopped on google and a quick search later this is what I learned:

  • Octavious Catto was a Civil rights leader in post-Civil War Philadelphia.
  • He was a teacher, athlete, and well respected in his community.
  • Some of his accomplishments were desegregating Philadelphia trolley cars, increasing voting, and educational opportunities for African Americans.
  • He was murdered in 1877 by two men passing by him.
  • He is Philly’s first solo African American to be recognized 140 years after his death.

My biggest takeaway is that you can be successful and still do the right thing. You don't have to trade in your soul to get the life you desire. Octavious didn't live to see the full expression of his legacy but I like to think he might have smiled.

Success requires a level of sacrifice and discipline. That might look like saying no to social outings or understanding that everyone isn't going to clap for you, and THAT'S OK.

No shade to the Facebook ads with proven systems and quick results but success is built over time with consistent action.

Success and recognition are a long game!

Octavious had to wait 140 years to be recognized for his contributions to civil liberties. Today, it’s not going to take you 140 years to see the fruits of your labor but set realistic expectations.

Focus on achieving your goals daily and see how quickly you progress!

Ben Franklin Parkway

Photo Taken by Delia Pena-Gay

The Ben Franklin Parkway is a mile-long road that runs from Philly’s City Hall around Logan Circle (Be sure to check out The Swan Memorial Fountain) and ends right before the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

With flags representing all the countries in the world running along “Museum Mile” I felt like royalty.

Coming from a city that never sleeps, it's nice to walk around without having to strategically map out how you're going to cross the street. I take Museum Mile in for a second and enjoy the peace I find there.

Locals are out with their dogs jogging or playing fetch. Others are in groups laughing, taking pictures, and creating memories. Proving that it is possible for us to get along.

Philadelphia Museum of Art

Photo Taken by Delia Pena-Gay

Who didn’t want to be like Rocky Balboa the “Heavy Weight Champion” of the world!?

Running up the steps of the Philadelphia Museum of Art as the triumphant underdog has been officially crossed off my bucket list! LOL

Once I was satisfied with my reenactment I found what I was really looking for...the view.

What I soaked in from this view was to remain present.

Often times we are consumed with what’s next and overlook what already is. Appreciate the space you're in, it’s not always going to be comfortable but there is beauty in it.

I’ll always be from NYC but I have a new fondness for Philadelphia, PA.

If you found this article helpful then subscribe to my page!

Photo was taken by Delia Pena- Gay

guide
1

About the Creator

Mrz. PG

My superpower is in the silver lining.

Let me show you how to see through a different lens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.