Wander logo

Globetrotters Spotlight-Delia Pena-Gay

Travel and live a little

By Mrz. PGPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Taken by my husband on our trip to Vegas

Hi Globetrotters. My name is…

Delia

I come from…

The South Bronx in NYC.

I work as…

A part-time writer for a Narbeth, Pa.-based photography directory company. The other half of the time, I freelance and mentor at The Fresh Air Fund a New York-based not-for-profit youth development organization.

I love to travel because…

I enjoy exploring new places, experiencing new cultures; other ways of living, and just seeing what the rest of the earth has to offer. You can only connect to the things you have experienced.

Check out a solo day trip I took to the great city of Philadelphia below:

The best place I’ve ever been…

Was definitely the trip my husband planned from Orlando, Fl to Turks & Caicos. If ONLY I knew then what I know I would have…

You can read all about it down below:

In my spare time, I like to…

Try new food receipts with my family and play games with my spouse. Growing up as an inner-city kid all I did was play games and it stuck with me into my adulthood. It was either the games at summer day camp or the video games, board games, and card games with my two older siblings.

Read about the last couples game night I hosted that left everyone laughing below:

A few years ago I cut out pork and beef from my diet which can be tough since I’m Hispanic and meat is just part of life HAHAHA. With that said dinners tend to get creative and I’m always looking for something new to make.

If you need a fresh new recipe to put on tonight’s dinner table check out my post on the Instagram recipes that were a hit in my house below:

My top travel tip…

Plan your excursions ahead of time! Vacationing doesn’t have to break the bank if you plan properly. I tend to look on Groupon for any activities that may be available in the place I’m traveling to. I’ve saved some coins on dinner, drinks, and local activities with a Groupon!

If I could live somewhere else I’d live in…

This is a tough one because I love beaches so I want to say somewhere in the Caribbean but I also really love New Orleans, La.

On a trip to NoLa with my best friend, we received some amazing recommendations from the locals which included a search for Solange's (Beyoncés sister) pink vacation house. Lol.

The food is incredible and so are the people. You have to try a frozen Cafe Au Lait at Cafe Du Monde!

My favorite way to travel is …

I enjoy traveling in small groups with my husband. For me, it's all about the experience and the memories you create. The smallest group I’ve traveled with was a group of four. We did a lot of dinner dates and daily activities with the other couple we were traveling with.

Three lessons I learned from traveling…

  • Set some kind of schedule when traveling in a group. Setting a schedule of activities is helpful and can ensure that you get to do the things you want to do most without feeling rushed.
  • If you’re traveling with a group, be okay with doing things by yourself if your group doesn’t want to participate. Everyone is different and may not want to do all the same things. People have their own interests and ideas of how they want to spend their vacation and that’s ok. Turn the activities you didn’t do together into a conversation, you never know you may want to explore it at a later time!
  • Pack your own medicine kit. I always travel with Advils, Pepto-Bismol, Tums, motion sickness, etc. Some of the luxuries we have in the U.S.A may not be available in other parts of the world.
  • My number one travel activity is…

    Finding the closest beach and sitting on it with an umbrella drink!! I must have been a fish in some other lifetime.

    If you enjoy my content considered subscribing or leave a small tip to show support!

    interview
    Like

    About the Creator

    Mrz. PG

    My superpower is in the silver lining.

    Let me show you how to see through a different lens.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.