Wander logo

24 hours.

Thanks Casey :)

By Peter MasonPublished 4 years ago 10 min read
3
Travel With Style - Casey Neistat for J.Crew

7am. I draw the curtain and open my window. The warm rays of sunshine lap over my arms and each wave warms my face. I stick my slides on and wash my face and moisturise. I look up one last time at my quarantine face. Eyes of isolation and folded dreams. A suppressed smile would be unchained. I also glance up to my chalkboard, where I have written a bucket list for that first day back in the world. It's a golden list of things, and I hear the sounds of the places I'll go. It sounds like that Dr Seuss book.

I'm about to head to the kitchen for breakfast. Actually, skip that I don't have time for that, I'm late as it is. I'll pick it up at the airport. Alright, alright, alright, which tie. Pink or orange. I have a lot of orange paisley patterns, and they look gorgeous. Okay, I'm choosing the salmon pink tie, with my slim fit white shirt, and a light grey suit. I don't want to forget the cufflinks - got 'em. I'll stick some rugged Chelsea boots on. I want to take a pair of shoes that I don't mind getting battered as I plan to take as many forms of transport today as possible. I'll explain later, but it's my goal for today as I head to California. Now, I'm glancing across the selection of pins that I own. It just has to be 'Hakuna matata'. Because. You know it's good, you know, you know. Quick mirror glance. Oooo this is a look. 2 hours until my flight to California leaves. I swing the barely packed backpack over my shoulders and shut the window as the door closes. Sunglasses. I go back to get those, there's always one thing.

By Gez Xavier Mansfield on Unsplash

I'd skate if I could like Casey Neistat in the video above, and it's definitely something I want to be able to do. Skateboarding is just another way to zoom. It can go places that bikes can go, but it needs more control for the added freedom. Instead, I uber to the airport. I have a chat about goldendoodles and music artists with the taxi driver. I wish her well, and a safe flight too (it just happens, I can't be the only one) and think she has a sweet taste in indie music.

By Morgan Lane on Unsplash

As I jump out of the car, I hear the whoosh of planes overhead, as I shimmy past some grandparents. They've brought some birthday balloons to celebrate their granddaughter's belated birthday. A sweet sight. I wish them luck and enter the airport. I begin to funnel into the doors and slip my mask on amidst the growing crowds. I think I booked my flight just before a huge rush at the terminal, but security is taking far more than I remembered. It's probably okay, I'll probably still make it, just. Some twins are pointing at my tie, as I finally pass through security. I think back to when twins didn't have to wear masks when you could see their smile. I guess it's all in the eyes now.

By Ken Yam on Unsplash

Breakfast. I'll just look for a bagel and some orange juice. There's downtime, now I'm at the airport. Okay, why have I decided to take as many forms of transport that I can? Well, I'll explain it as the best way to traverse and explore as much as I can in a day that I enjoy is to bounce between different transport methods. Having been stuck inside, the rush of travelling is something I have consumed so scarcely. And now that I will be able to travel, why not do it every way I know how to and even try new transportation such as skateboarding. I want to move in different styles, speeds and sizes to see other people again. I have high expectations for how this adventure of a lifetime is going to play out with a vague plan and friends to help add passion to this day.

For as I travel, these tunes will play me out of quarantine. And I'll dance my way out of this isolation. And I'll smile all day. The playlist makes me smile as the plane takes off, and I think about the past few months. It's strange to think about how patient everyone has been and the togetherness we've all shown. I think about the people who have been with me, in person and online and ones I want to see again. It hits home if you spend a while thinking about it. I lay in my chair and take a mental break and nod off.

Rohan from Vancouver - photo by me.

A few hours pass and I get off the plane at Palm springs. I catch up with my friend, Rohan, from Vancouver, and we walk under the baking sun along the main street. We pop into an ice cream store and pick up mango scoops and vanilla milkshakes and window shop outside a hat store. I share stories with an English grandmother we meet inside, who now lives in Vancouver. The coincidence is uncanny. My friend bought a hat here before. Likewise, I copped a pink bandana, and we joke about the days. I see his smile peek out from the sides of his mask.

me - photo by Rohan

Okay so going back to the beginning, why travelling and where did I find the passion. The Casey Neistat video above inspired an electric love of the outdoors in me and there’s so much creativity in his editing process. His friendliness and relationships with people he meets from the places he goes to and is uplifting and glorious. And if I can get a hint of his technical prowess with a camera, then I'd be happy.

Then, Rohan and I jog up a mountain, backpacks on. The terrain is rocky and jagged edges line the winding path. The shade of the mountain protects us from the sun's glare, and we gain height quickly. A lively couple passes us in the opposite direction, and we say muffled exchanges. Our masks don't inhibit us, and we continue to run to the top and sit on a dusty black sofa, gazing at the view from the peak. We notice two rams on a side slope and eat cheese and grapes.

Sunset - photo by me.

A few hours time, we are at the bottom and far dustier. Wait, hold up. I see potential in this angle. I flip my phone around and take a few photos of colourful murals. Murals are detailed and inspired. They hold stories different from the stories within the walls. They have a purpose of lighting up a dark space, not physically but in someone's mind and thoughts. I share them on my Instagram like this one here. Rohan and I say our goodbyes, and he skates home.

Moving on, I take the bus to Los Angeles and hop on a Bird scooter to Santa Monica beach. The whole atmosphere is beautiful, the sun is streaming down, and the light breeze tickles me. I want to stop by a couple of favourite spots of mine in Santa Monica. I return to this fantastic English inspired pub, now a beautiful and charming place by the coast. It's an English family livelihood that has been in California for many moons, and as soon I step foot in the store again, it feels like home. There's somehow everything from the jams and chocolates that I grew up with, to the rainbows coloured sweets to a cornish pasty. They even have jammie dodgers haha. And there are things that I forgot, and it's really nostalgic to catch a glimpse of them. There's also a selection of over the top British suitcases and dressed up dogs with the union jack painted all over them. The aesthetic is cosy and homey, with posters and art lining the walls you really forget you're in Santa Monica in California.

Recently, I've got into thrifting, and it's good to find new clothing while also being responsible for the planet. I spot this store Crossroads a while back, and I walk by it again, and so I pop in to find this outrageously stunning green jumper. As soon as I locked eyes with it, I couldn't not buy it. I spot a yellow and red raincoat, and I pick it up as I like the older Adidas look. I decide to leave before splurging any more, but I remember why I like the store. It just feels right, and there's always something that is a cut above the rest.

I catch up with an old friend, and we go for dinner and grab tacos. It's a colourful setup, and the lighting reminds me of a quiet village town in Sweden. I stroll down the streets and see new businesses light up the night, and I'm warm inside as I feel the buzz of the people. I stay at his apartment, and we snack on cookies and play some lo-fi music.

We get up before the sunrise and we go surfing. I haven't surfed for a year before quarantine, so I've lost track of how long it's been. Love your lifeguard, they keep you safe. I feel liberated without a mask and the rolling waves crash onto the shore. The ocean breeze is fresh if not a bit salty. A dozen others join us in the early morning. The water is cold, but at least I am finally here. I yawn as I paddle out. And it's strange yawning now. The mask stops it, and you have to hold it in. You have to feel for the brave nurses, managing with their long shifts, holding in yawns. I paddle out and surf, as the sun begins to rise. I lose track of how long I'm in the water. It's my second home sometimes.

Apple, if you still have a 'by iPhone 8 series', you may use this. - photo by me

Casey Neistat inspired me with his love of adventures and recording them. I don't know how long it would've taken me to understand that, let alone pass it on. In his work, there's individuality and intimate creativity that attracts so many people to his videos. There is an art for both holding the camera and holding the audience. If you understand that idea, then the stories can come to life. And then there's just the irreplacable personality. He wore a suit, that's an awesome statement. So be yourself, all the time.

By Sebastien Gabriel on Unsplash

7am. An eerie silent exists. The sun continues to rise, and I feel fulfilled. I travelled in many different ways, meeting people and thriving off what it means to be back in society. Even if it has changed since the last time I was here. And even if I forgot to eat much today, I’d take this whole trip all again, no matter how many days I spent at home. I lay my head down on the surfboard, and I think about my day.

My suit is not as smooth and crispy as when I left a day ago but it has a whole lot more attached to it. My tie is dusty and my pin has fallen off. But there's more to the physical items of this day. I got the chance to move and express myself and to interact with many people again. And that unique feeling was what I think I came for.

Today is a gift.

Tomorrow will be a blessing.

Yesterday was precious.

The moment now is worth so much more than I can think or describe. We may dream of the places we want to be and the dreams of where we can be in the future. But remember that we have to make the most of now and these same 3 days will follow you for the rest of your life. So always value them, no matter the environment. There's always a way. Just look the right way.

Oh, and you are my friend, and you've just come on this journey with me. We'll tell ourselves this story over coffee, sometime.

america
3

About the Creator

Peter Mason

Business enquiries:

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.