Wander logo

22nd of November

4pm at the Leeds Library

By John GilroyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
22nd of November
Photo by Richard Michie on Unsplash

I picked Clara up from the train station last night. I'd had a shower before I left mine to get to the station for 10:54pm. Leaving it a little late I decided that it would be best to try and run part of the way, this became 3/4 of it. Walking in parts to parts to allow my legs time to rest. I'd been working out before my shower, pull-ups and chin-ups, so I was in the mood for the run (in sonme forms). I'd also been on a run before, the day before, though shin splints still kicked in towards the end of the run. I arrived a sweaty painful mess covered in raindrops head-to-toe, hair still soaking from the shower. Hat floppy in my hand from the rain. I waited for Clara's train to arrive. It made me miss London and long for an escape there was a train departing for Hull that I considered boarding. A last minute excursion to a town that was a source of my 18-19 year old self's depression. The home of my paternal side and my place of birth. As I watched people board the train another arrived from London in my state of habit formed ideas, I imagined this to be Clara's train. Memories from past pick-ups and farewells. As I stood waiting at the gates, watching people depart from the trian and cross the bridge/ gangway to the platform to the gates . Their was a couple that embraced in a farewell exchange, my attention flickered between them and the crowd as I kept my eyes open and peeled for that of a familiar face. A girl that looked similar to Clara in looks and apparel, wearing the same attire as what she was wearing when she left. She came closer to the gate and I realised for certain that it wasn't her. I had known for a while as she approached however. There wasn't enough bags you see. As well as the fact that the train had come up from London Kings Cross and the one that Clara was due to be onboard was to be heading south from Edinburgh, she had been to see her close friend that studies there. In retrospect writing and experience she is a also a fairly close friend of myslef as well. We've known each other since we were about 18/19, we had all met in our foundation year at UCA Epsom in Surry. One of if not my strongest first memory of Cici is by annoying her by speaking to Clara one break time in the spring time of 2019. I gave Clara my jacket from there. A Ben Sherman one 'mod-esc' thin jacket, a sort of late 20th century answer to that of a sports coat/ jacket or blazer. A foreshadowing of garments to come. My uncle had given it to me some years or time prior and I had worn it relentlessly in all weathers and seasons with all of my torso attire.

"Is that John's jacket?" Cici had asked Clara.

So I had been told and so I had believed.

ID still in the unchecked pockets.

My phone rang in the one that I now wore, it was Clara.

"Hi, was your phone dead? I'm going to be a little late."

I answered the phone as the couple saying farewell departed.

He called her as she walked away.

Him calling, me answering.

Her departing.

Clara arriving.

I had fiddled with my floppy hat before hand.

I wondered how I had looked to them.

I gave change.

couples travel
Like

About the Creator

John Gilroy

I'm a writer from London, now based in Leeds. Anecdotes, trians of thought and poems are what I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.