Wander logo

2023: Life's Hacks & Laughs!

Read on to discover the unsolicited, yet important lessons, and amazing hacks life bestowed upon me this past year.

By Madonna WelshPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like

This year began with a bang. Many bangs to be precise– all in the sky, transforming it to a canvas of colourful, sparkling blotches. I was aboard one of those elegant New Year's Eve cruises in Sydney, utterly captivated by the breathtaking scene unfolding around me. The only worry on my mind was probably about my tall glass of wine running out. It was a moment of sheer bliss, one that I can only describe as ethereal.

Has the rest of 2023 been so blissful? Not at all. This year has tested my patience and more. Maybe so did last year, but I left all the trouble behind as soon as the clock struck 12 on the last day. I intend to do that this year as well, but I would like to carry forward some of the new lessons I was taught this year to the next. Here they are:

Be More Present

For someone like me who eats worry for breakfast, this mantra means so much. A wise lady told me that you worry when you live in the past or the future. To say that this advice was life-changing would be an understatement. I now understand the importance of being in the present– savouring the moment as it unfolds. Cringing over a blunder that you blurted out a year ago or worrying about an offer letter that may never come costs you the present. The present is the most important of all, I understand now. And, the thing about the present is that it tends to disappear fast – like cotton candy in water.

Health Before Wealth

Who knew eating a healthy yummy meal could help so much? Well, obviously not me. I was so caught up in the rat race that I forgot that rats cannot run without proper food. I was reminded of this simple rule the hard way and I won’t forget it ever, thanks to the long hospital bill. Now I make sure that I eat on time, with absolutely no compromise. I have also made the decision to be more conscious of the things I eat. The transformation has been incredible! My skin has become so much clearer. Listen, your mother was right. You should eat more veggies.

Draw Your Boundaries

Well, this is not easy. ‘No’ is just a two-letter word, but for the love of God, I just cannot spit it out when I most definitely should. I came to this realisation when, on the same evening as a crucial meeting, I found myself having to babysit my friend's two-year-old. Long story short– my colleagues had to listen to the child sing the shark song over my voice.

My friend would have been more than happy to search for an alternative option if I had just refused but ‘no’ got stuck in my throat and ‘yes’ escaped my mouth before I could even think. Like most practises of self-love, this is also very hard, but I am making a conscious effort these days. So, now when my neighbour asks me to get fish and chips when I am returning from a long day of work, what do you think I say? Yea...no!

Look Out For Deals Always and ASAP

This was a happy lesson really. Ok, I learnt this last year when I started browsing for New Year cruises in September. My friends called me crazy, but guess who entered the new year without a hole in their pocket? This year also I made sure that I booked my flight tickets months before my vacation and oh, the pure joy of finding great deals and saving some bucks. Not just tickets, literally anything expensive I want to buy - I am looking for deals to soften the blow. I know it is an obvious hack, but I discovered this joy a little late in life and I am so glad I did! Now I have my binoculars ready to spot discounts and deals from miles away.

Really, these simple changes I made this past year have helped me so much. I am more conscious and aware of my actions and their consequences. Guess that is a huge win. Like everyone else I have no clue what the next year has in store for me but boy, the excitement is real. Bring it on, 2024!

travel tips
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.