Wander logo

10 Study Abroad Tips

Get your 'A' and have fun too.

By Dani AshPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

1. Be okay with being by yourself.

This one is number one for a reason. Your biggest mistake will be waiting for others to go explore your city while studying abroad. Instead, I recommend inviting whoever you want, but go anyway even if you are alone. Don't get caught up in it. Go out and see the city, and make friends with the locals. You'll have way more fun and see way more. P.S. If you speak the language? Don't let people drag you around to be a translator. It's super not fun.

2. Set aside a time for homework/study.

My key to success? I set aside a time every day to do homework/study. I sat down, put my headphones in, and worked for one hour every week day during lunch. I only had morning classes, luckily, so I'd stay on campus, eat my lunch and work. Usually, I didn't have to work every week day, and I didn't even have to think about touching class work during my weekends. This takes a lot of self control, but it's worth it. I was able to get all my work done, and explore in the afternoon. I'd go to some great places during the weekend too. The best part? I didn't have to worry about my grade or homework while traveling the French Rivera.

3. Get yourself a portable battery.

This was one of the best purchases I ever made for this trip. While you're out and about, taking pictures, sending Snaps, listening to music, and more (i.e: Pokemon Go), your phone will lose battery fast. I usually reached the danger zone about mid-day with my phone dying. But I never had to worry and I never had to decide to save my battery because I had a portable charger with me to keep my phone going. I recommend a simple and small one, as those hold about two whole charges for your phone. They fit in pockets and purses easily, and they are fairly light. Get yourself a portable charger if you don't have one already.

4. Learn the language.

Of course you can't learn a whole language in it's fluency by the time you leave for a new country with a new language. I had the luck to have been studying French for six years when I studied abroad in the French Riviera. So my communication with my host mom, professors, and locals was fairly easy. If you don't have the same luxury, I highly recommend some crash courses on Duolingo, and learning some basics.

Basics include: Hello, goodbye, please, thank you, sorry, I only speak (insert languages you speak here), and I would like (insert what you'd like to eat here).

5. Study something you're interested in.

This is true for anyone anyway, but this is seriously true for when you're studying abroad. I was able to study the history of France starting from the Gauls to the French Revolution. There's plenty of choices, but make sure it's something that will have your attention because there's no way you'll pass if you are not interested in what you're studying. There's too many cool things to do otherwise and you'll end up struggling! (Some of my classmates were taking a wine class—in France—wow.)

6. Spend money on experiences, not things.

I was abroad for a summer, it was only a month, so I budgeted 500 Euro for spending money. That included food, things, experiences, and whatever else. I will never forget the crazy foods I tried, the adventures I went on, and the movies I saw. I barely came back with any physical objects, and that was perfect. I don't regret a thing. Of course get yourself a few souvenirs, maybe some stuff to bring back for your family too, but make sure you leave money for new foods and new experiences.

7. Get close with your professor.

Before I even left, I was close with the professor I studied with. She was my professor at the university I go to for school usually, and she took us abroad with a program. I was friends with her on Facebook already and we had some great times as she taught me French. If you don't get a program like this, and get all new professors, just make the relationship while you're there. The better your professor knows you, the easier they'll go on you. (I showed up super hung over and exhausted one day and my professor was super nice about it). Do yourself a favor and make your professor one of your friends while you're out there.

8. Brush up on the country's customs.

Did you know when you enter a store/restaurant in France you're supposed to greet them? Did you know you were supposed to say goodbye as well? Don't tip the French, it's very insulting too. Those are just a few things you need to know about French people just so you don't get dirty looks. Make sure to do your research for every country you're going to so that you're able to be polite and show that you're there to enjoy their culture, not just be an obnoxious traveler.

9. Set aside time to talk to the people you miss.

Most people's biggest downfall? Homesickness. The shock of being somewhere new and unfamiliar can be very upsetting, and missing your loved ones makes it even worse. I made sure to set aside two times a week to talk with my family and friends. This really helped with homesickness, and I often found it to be refreshing to catch up with them. Don't let homesickness take you over and ruin your time abroad. It'll be okay.

10. Make crazy decisions.

I went and got drunk on a Tuesday night while I was abroad. I got piercings at a shop while I was abroad. I danced with a bunch of French people during a musical festival. I did a lot of impulsive things and I had a blast. Of course, still be safe and have buddies with you, but allow yourself to let loose and try new things. Jumping off a cliff into freezing water wasn't my plan that day, but it happened, and it was amazing. My favorite memories were the spontaneous ones, I recommend doing some of the same, because that's what will make your abroad experience great.

student travel
Like

About the Creator

Dani Ash

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.