Viva logo

Your Double Mastectomy Recovery Comfort Checklist

When everything sucks, here's how to make it suck less

By Tinka Boudit She/HerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
I may have lost my breasts, but not my smile. Photos July 2020

July 15, 2020: Preventative double mastectomy. Long story as to how I got there, but I got there. Leading up to that date, here are some of the things I needed/wanted in my planning for comfort in my procedure.

The most important need of all: A partner or support system. My husband 'Noah' is the most incredible partner I could possibly ask for. I literally could not have made it without him. He was my emotional, mental, and physical support through this entire endeavor. This change was more than physical. The physical recovery was arguably easier than the mental and emotional ones. Don't do it alone. It will feel impossible. Even with Noah, there were days when I didn't want to see or speak to anyone besides him. Have a support system, they are priceless.

In the hospital:

1. Things to help with sleep. Sleep Mask. Ear plugs. Headphones. A pillow from home. There will be constant beeping, noise, and interruptions. My first hospital roommate blasted the TV until midnight and snored like a wood chipper. Noah bought a stuffed animal that looked just like our dog. It sounds childish, but it helped a lot. Not only was it comforting, but it was somewhat stiff and structured, so it made for a great armrest to hold my phone when making video calls. Sleep will be your best friend this first week, it's going to be interrupted a lot. Make getting to sleep easier.

2. Take care of your mouth. Lozenges. Lip balm. Mouthwash. My first procedure was twelve hours. You know what that does to your mouth and throat? One of the first things I asked for in my room was lip balm and a cough drop. I didn't have the energy for over a day to make it to the sink to brush my teeth, hence the mouthwash. *grumble* catheters *grumble*

3. Welcome to painful monotony. Smartphone. Charger with a LONG cord. Magazines. Books. I don't have cable TV at home. My rotation was morning local news, Law & Order, Family Guy, and American Dad. I didn't use a long charger cord, I used four external batteries and constantly had one charging. I wouldn't be at the mercy of a dying phone if I dropped the phone cord; I wouldn't have to call a nurse to pick up a cord if I dropped it.

I was in the hospital during the height of COVID protocols. Noah was barely allowed to visit me. Lots of calls and texts were made to lots of people to break up the day.

Bonus: Time to go home. Take EVERYTHING with you. Anything that the hospital gives you: cups, toiletries, socks, etc. Anything that you don't take, gets thrown away. You might as well use it.

If you don't have a specialty travel lap pillow, have a nice squishy bed pillow to go across your lap under the seat belt.

At Home:

You're going to be laid up for six weeks or more. Chances are, you've been stressing about this for quite some time. If you're going to do this, do it RIGHT. It's going to suck, you might as well be comfortable.

4. Clothes. Button up pajama shirts. Silk or satin pajamas. 100% cotton. Compression socks to help prevent blood clots. Over-sized zip-up hoodies. I don't think I raised my hands above my head for a month; my t-shirts grew dusty.

5. Sit & Sleep. For me, a bed was not an option for over twelve weeks. I slept in a zero-gravity reclining lawn chair. Don't get me wrong, it was tricked out to the nines with cozy bedding. If you have access to a comfortable recliner or a something that allows you to sleep at an incline, more power to you. The nice part for me, I was able to get up, sit down, incline, and recline on my own. There wasn't much I could do on my own, but at least I could do that.

6. Food & Drink. A favorite big cup with a handle and straw. It may sound silly, but having a favorite cup constantly filled with water, made me want to drink it more. My leather mugs from the renaissance festival brought such comfort.

silk PJs, Leather mug, straw,

When it comes to eating, lots of high-fiber foods, juices, apples, crackers. Easy finger foods. Noah bought rectangular storage containers and would make little charcuterie & crudite boxes. I could much on them, and anything I didn't want to eat could get covered and put back in the fridge. Also, all the chocolate you want. You've earned it. Get the good stuff.

7. Time to move. Everyone's homes are different. A walker wasn't going to work well for me. I used an extra long, industrial Swiffer-type broom as a cane to brace myself as I made my way around the house. It worked well. When it came to other movements, I used every trick in the book to move my bowels: Senna, prune juice, probiotics, high levels of vitamin c, coffee, chocolate laxatives. Do what works for you and your body, but it may take any or all of these things for you.

8. Cleanliness. Bath wipes & dry shampoo. I wasn't able to use the shower for weeks after my procedures. I used bath wipes the hospital provided and baby wipes that didn't smell like fresh powder. I didn't have the right kind of sink in my home to wash my hair in; so there was lots of dry shampoo and braids worn.

This is by no means a definitive list of what you will need while recovering from a major surgery, but these were the biggest things that brought me the most comfort and help while I was recovering.

If I can do it, you can do it.

“Fate whispers to the warrior, 'You can not withstand the storm.' The warrior whispers back, 'I am the storm.' ”

health
1

About the Creator

Tinka Boudit She/Her

contact on FB & IG

linktr.ee/tinkaboudit

The Soundtrack BOI: WA

FP

Bette On It: Puddle, Desks, Door, Gym, Condoms, Couch, Dancers, Graduate.

Purveyor of Metaphorical Hyperbole, Boundless, Ridiculous, Amazing...and Humble.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.