Viva logo

Women: We Need to Stick Together

How I've found the best connections in life through women

By Tierni MariePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

I used to be a guys girl, and I was quite proud of it. I didn't feel comfortable around women. With men I felt more relaxed and less guarded. When I was with women I felt judged and mis understood. Much of this was because deep down, I really just hated myself. I constantly compared myself to other women. Comparing beauty, weight, relationship status, or popularity. Much of this was not due to any fault of other women, it simply lied with me.

Around guys I felt like I fit in. I probably just liked the attention. I found men to be more relaxed, humourous, and less petty. Of course, this in no way helped me to form strong female bonds and connections. What was actually true was that many of these men did not truly appreciate me. They did not care about my intellect and well-being. Many were only interested in seeing if they could someday get me into bed. If they didn't succeed then that was often the end of that ”friendship”.

As I've gotten older I understand the need for female relationships. I see women building each other up, rather then looking at one another as competition. This is so empowering. Sure with all human interactions there may be ulterior motives and there are still those individuals who seem to be out to get you, usually because something is missing in themselves. With this said, I think other women do genuinely have your best interests at heart. They aren't spending time with you just to get laid. The relationships are more pure and less superficial that male to female friendships.

I've found that female relationships generally last much longer. They tend less to fade with time. Often these friendships are at a much deeper level. Women are emotional in nature and can empathize on a level often that men often struggle with. The bonds between women can be quite strong especially when they have shared experiences both in pain and triumph.

I love connecting with other women both in real life and through social media. I try to encourage them, as they encourage me. I have found true inspiration through so many by reading their stories and discovering how they are able to navigate life. It's so important to build each other up. I always appreciate the conversations, comments, likes and support. It makes some difficult days more bearable.

Women can inspire one another. Remember these are also your mothers and daughters. Role modeling positive, healthy female relationships is crucial for young women to see. They need to know the power we can have when we love and support each other.

So thank you beautiful women who have connected with me and have become a part of my life! I see you too and hope I can offer the same level of influence in your day. We are stronger together. Truly with the right people surrounding you, you can become unstoppable.

To those women who find themselves without many female bonds, I say let go. Recognize in you the insecurities that are holding you back from discovering the beauty that others have to offer. Let go of the feeling that you don't match up to the level of other women in some way. Because you do and they will see that too.

Keep on bonding sisters and continue to offer all the love you have to offer!

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Tierni Marie

I just want to share my life experiences and the valuable lessons I've learned. Expert in anything I am not, but student to life I will always be. I hope by sharing my struggles and triumphs, I can reach others who may resonate. #strength

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.